RSS Feed

This Week’s Nails – Triangles

It was lovely to have Queen Mary Berry back on our screen last night with the Comic Relief special of the Great British Bake Off. I LOVE this show and the cookbook addict in me couldn’t resist the accompanying recipe books from the last few series!

My other favourite programme was on last night too – Girls. Brainchild of super-cool Lena Dunham, Girls has been described as a grittier Sex and the City and I love it. I think it is brilliantly written and to top it off the lead character is called Hannah!

Today’s post is somewhat of a tutorial on how to achieve a new look with your nails. Now this is the first time I tried this method and if you look really closely at my pictures you will notice a few mistakes but on the whole I think the look is quite effective if you choose the right colours.

I chose two of my E.L.F polishes that are quite contrasting shades – a lovely pastel mint green and a darker navy. I have to admit that I wanted a navy blue nail varnish for ages and thought I had found it when I bought this E.L.F one but it is just too dark and often comes out looking black. It still works for this look but I do have a new navy nail varnish ordered and on its way to me so if it is any better I will do a quick review.

triangle2

Anyway, back to these triangle nails…

I tried to do two different looks, having the triangles at both the base and tips of the nails so you could see which result you prefer. I would have done all 10 of my nails but I have two broken nails that do not seem to want to grow back so until all my nails are even and long again I will just be doing my nail art on two or four fingers.

triangle11

To achieve this look you will need:

triangle1

2 contrasting nail varnishes

A clear top coat

Scissors

Sellotape

Begin by painting your nails with two layers of your base coat and leave to dry. I left mine for a couple of hours just to make sure they were definitely dry. If your nails are still tacky then as soon as you try to peel off the tape, your base colour will peel off too.

triangle3

After your nails are dry, you need to cut a piece of sellotape and the cut this piece in half again lengthways. With these two thin pieces, arrange them onto your nail in a triangular shape where the point is in the centre of your nail.

triangle4

Tip – I seemed to have really good quality sticky tape and I was worried it may still peel off my base colour, so I put it against my trousers a few times to weaken the stickiness slightly.

Paint on your darker nail varnish over the top of the sellotape

triangle5

Give it about 10 seconds and then very carefully peel off your sticky tape, revealing your triangle below

triangle6

Seal the look with a layer of clear nail varnish and there you go!

triangle10

This week’s look was a bit more fiddly than usual but I think the effect is great and there is no end to the different colour combinations you could try out.

triangle13

About hannahhotcakes

My name is Hannah. I live near Bath in a lovely village in the Cotswolds with my husband Ian, the love of my life for the past 10 years, in our dream cottage. I have landed my dream job as a primary school teacher and I can’t think of anything else I would rather be doing. I am a self-confessed foodie and I love to cook, bake, and eat out as much as possible. Here are some things I love: My friends and family, travelling, fresh flowers, good books, having breakfast on my balcony, horror films, Christmas, tea, Las Vegas, lie-ins, red wine, Liverpool FC, music, sausage dogs, Spain, rare steak, fashion, cheese, American TV series and camping. And here are my pet hates: People dressed as animals, whistling, being rushed, being made to wait, girls who act stupid to impress a man, spiders, sunburn and rocket (it comes with EVERYTHING!)

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

