RSS Feed

Recipe – Roast Chicken with Chorizo

Before I write about today’s recipe, I wanted to share just one more snow picture and show you the little beauty we spotted through the trees yesterday…

chicken9

OK, no further mentionings of snow in this post, I promise!

If I had to list my favourite foods then chorizo would definitely be near the top of the list. Sweet and smoky with a hint of spice, I love it in lots of different dishes.

We try to have a roast dinner most weekends and I love experimenting in the kitchen with various cuts of meat. However, as much as I love cooking and eating them, there is no denying that with all the different components there is a lot of work involved in a roast dinner and often a lot of washing up too!

I wanted a sort of one-pan roast dinner this week that would taste amazing and not take all afternoon to cook, so I came up with this recipe. You add the vegetables to the dish the chicken is cooking in and then add the wonder ingredient, chorizo, right at the end when the chicken is cooling.

Ingredients

1 free range chicken

Olive oil

Salt and pepper

1 onion, cut into wedges

4-5 good sized potatoes, quartered

3 carrots, peeled and chopped into chunks

150g of chorizo sausage, sliced into chunks

5-6 cherry tomatoes, halved

A squeeze of fresh lemon

How to make it

  • Begin by preheating your oven to 180°c, Gas Mark 4
  • Rub the chicken with some olive oil and season well
  • Begin by cooking the bird breast-side down in the oven for 45 minutes in a large roasting traychicken7
  • Turn the chicken over and cook for another 30 minutes
  • Around the bird, tuck in the onion wedges, potato and carrotschicken6
  • Drizzle the vegetables with some more olive oil and season well
  • Roast for another 45 minuteschicken1
  • Take the chicken out, cover in foil and leave to rest
  • To the oven tray, add the chorizo and tomatoeschicken5
  • Toss them in the cooking juices from the tray and turn the oven up to about 220°C, Gas Mark 6
  • Roast the vegetables for another 20 minutes or so until golden brown and coated in the lovely paprika-infused juice from the chorizochicken3
  • Carve the chicken and serve with a good helping of the roasted vegetables and chorizo, drizzled with the flavoured oils from the tray and a squeeze of fresh lemonchicken2

A delicious and easy twist on a Sunday roast!

If I were to make this again, I would buy some fresh thyme and add it to the tray at the same time as the chorizo just to boost the flavours and add some more colour to the plate.

We didn’t eat all of the roasted vegetables and I can confirm that they make a great addition to a salad the next day, with the rest of the roast chicken torn into strips.

chicken8

About hannahhotcakes

My name is Hannah. I live near Bath in a lovely village in the Cotswolds with my husband Ian, the love of my life for the past 10 years, in our dream cottage. I have landed my dream job as a primary school teacher and I can’t think of anything else I would rather be doing. I am a self-confessed foodie and I love to cook, bake, and eat out as much as possible. Here are some things I love: My friends and family, travelling, fresh flowers, good books, having breakfast on my balcony, horror films, Christmas, tea, Las Vegas, lie-ins, red wine, Liverpool FC, music, sausage dogs, Spain, rare steak, fashion, cheese, American TV series and camping. And here are my pet hates: People dressed as animals, whistling, being rushed, being made to wait, girls who act stupid to impress a man, spiders, sunburn and rocket (it comes with EVERYTHING!)

Leave a Reply

