RSS Feed

Latest Purchases #17 – Glittery Brogues

Good morning!

brogues8

Well, the snow is still here but that also means our houseguests won’t be able to make it to us today. Seeing as we can’t get either of the cars off the drive to go anywhere, Ian and I will be pulling on our wellies later to venture out to the local pub which will hopefully have the weekend papers for us to enjoy.

One benefit about going out in this snow is the workout it gave my legs yesterday…they are aching today which must mean that all that trudging was doing something good!

Whenever we have people staying over, I always try to plan a good breakfast and I wanted to share a product with you today that is great to have in the cupboard…

brogues9

These ready-made waffles are actually very good and just need to be popped in the toaster to be heated up then drizzled with something sweet, like maple syrup or some bacon too for an American-inspired start to the day.

brogues10

I don’t have a waffle-maker, and I don’t think Ian would be happy about me buying another kitchen gadget either (!), so these make a quick and easy substitute.

brogues11

OK, onto today’s fashion post…

I love brogues. It started off with a tan pair, which I wore to death, giving my outfits a slightly boyish, preppy look. For spring (i.e. when it gets warm enough to not have to wear boots with thermal socks underneath!) I want a coloured pair but when I saw these beauties last week I couldn’t resist them!

brogues1

This season, fashion bloggers were raving about these Miu Miu Glittery Brogues, with their luxe jewelled heel, and Kurt Geiger were quick to follow up this release with their own version, the ‘Leonardo’.

I saw the Miu Miu ones ages ago but obviously I was not able to do much more than look at them (and lust over them a tiny bit!) due to the hefty price tag!

So you can imagine my joy when I nipped in to Matalan to get some black tights (I seem to get through these at a rate of one pair a week!) and saw these beauties on the shelf for just £3.50, reduced from £14.

brogues5

Now, I know these will provoke a love/ hate reaction but that’s fine because I love them!

I have to admit that they do remind me of a pair of shoes usually worn at a tap/ jazz recital but I think they are cute and the magpie in me loves anything glittery.

brogues4

As Ian can attest to, I’m not great in heels so these make a great alternative party shoe – it’s just a shame I didn’t see these before Christmas as they would have been lovely for the festive season!

Some people manage to clash prints and colours really well, but I tend to follow the rule that if I am wearing a statement piece then I keep everything else simple so I will be wearing these glittery brogues with plain black tights or a pair of skinny jeans in the Spring.

brogues6

I know they don’t carry the designer name like the ones mentioned above, but there is something about them that I actually prefer to the luxe versions and that is the laces. Rather than normal, thin laces that you get with most pairs of brogues, these have lovely silvery-grey ribbons threaded through them which I think makes them look more expensive and are just a very pretty addition.

Funnily enough, I have seen a couple of design tutorials on Pinterest and other blogs recently showing you how to revamp an old pair of brogues with some glue and glitter but for less than a fiver I recommend getting down to your local Matalan and picking up this pair!

Finally, if you use Bloglovin’ to keep up-to-date with your favourite bloggers, then please follow me by searching for Hannahhotcakes – Thank you!

About hannahhotcakes

My name is Hannah. I live near Bath in a lovely village in the Cotswolds with my husband Ian, the love of my life for the past 10 years, in our dream cottage. I have landed my dream job as a primary school teacher and I can’t think of anything else I would rather be doing. I am a self-confessed foodie and I love to cook, bake, and eat out as much as possible. Here are some things I love: My friends and family, travelling, fresh flowers, good books, having breakfast on my balcony, horror films, Christmas, tea, Las Vegas, lie-ins, red wine, Liverpool FC, music, sausage dogs, Spain, rare steak, fashion, cheese, American TV series and camping. And here are my pet hates: People dressed as animals, whistling, being rushed, being made to wait, girls who act stupid to impress a man, spiders, sunburn and rocket (it comes with EVERYTHING!)

Leave a Reply

