RSS Feed

Baby It’s Cold Outside

Well, it seems the weather gods smiled kindly on our little village and have blessed us with a lot of the white stuff! This was the view from our bedroom window when I got up:

snow1

Neither Ian nor I could get to work today and so we decided to make the most of our three day weekend.

After a long lie-in, we got up, wrapped up warm and headed out for a long walk. I missed where the pavement met the road!

snow29

Here is our back garden:

snow2 snow3

snow5 snow6

And here is our road:

snow7 snow8

The snow was really deep and it completely transformed our village.

snow30 snow31

snow14 snow16

snow25

snow10

I don’t think it has ever looked prettier!snow27

snow11

snow12

Here is a piece of land called The Avenue during the summer months:IMG_3446

And here it is earlier today:snow18

Here is our lovely local pub in the autumn:IMG_3502

And again today:snow26

Knowing we would get pretty chilly, Ian brought sensible supplies in the form of his hip flask, filled with whiskey!

snow19

Whilst it was an absolutely beautiful walk, we were so cold by the time we got home and my hair was actually frozen following our snowball fight!snow28

After a hot shower, it was time for tea, bacon sandwiches and a Ryan Gosling film on the sofa.

It looks as if we may be snowed in over the weekend too but I don’t really mind an excuse for a cosy weekend at home. We have a fridge full of food, lots of good films recorded on Sky Plus and I have several new recipes I want to try out.

I think we may venture out again later and head up the pub to sit by the fire and read the papers. I hope that you are making the most of the snow – we don’t get it very often so run outside, have fun and throw some snowballs!

snow20

About hannahhotcakes

My name is Hannah. I live near Bath in a lovely village in the Cotswolds with my husband Ian, the love of my life for the past 10 years, in our dream cottage. I have landed my dream job as a primary school teacher and I can’t think of anything else I would rather be doing. I am a self-confessed foodie and I love to cook, bake, and eat out as much as possible. Here are some things I love: My friends and family, travelling, fresh flowers, good books, having breakfast on my balcony, horror films, Christmas, tea, Las Vegas, lie-ins, red wine, Liverpool FC, music, sausage dogs, Spain, rare steak, fashion, cheese, American TV series and camping. And here are my pet hates: People dressed as animals, whistling, being rushed, being made to wait, girls who act stupid to impress a man, spiders, sunburn and rocket (it comes with EVERYTHING!)

Leave a Reply

