RSS Feed

Recipe – Tuna Niçoise

This is a really lovely recipe I made for Ian last week for our 9-year anniversary. I am obsessed with fish at the moment and even though we have a freezer full of lovely meat, all I seem to fancy is fish!

I love tuna steaks. They are lovely and meaty meaning they can handle strong flavours and still keep their own delicious taste whether they are grilled, fried or put on the BBQ.

I can also justify posting this recipe in January as it’s a salad so it is healthy! It is a hearty salad so it won’t leave you hungry afterwards and you can add to it what you want; anchovies, artichokes, black olives, French beans…anything!

IMG_4556

Ingredients

2 tuna steaks

Olive oil

1 garlic clove, finely chopped

Salt and pepper

A pinch of dried chili flakes

A squeeze of lemon

A handful of fresh parsley, chopped

2 potatoes, diced

2-3 eggs

A handful of cherry tomatoes

2 baby gem lettuces

Some cucumber, sliced

A handful of olives (I used green)

Balsamic vinegar

How to make it

  • Begin by marinating the tuna steaks – the longer the fish can sit in these flavours, the betterIMG_4557
  • In a bowl, pour in a good drizzle of olive oil and add the garlic, salt and pepper, chili flakes, lemon and parsley and stir well
  • Add the tuna steaks to this marinade and ensure they are well-coveredIMG_4559
  • Leave the flavours to penetrate the fish for at least an hour
  • Boil the potatoes and eggs for about 10 minutes until the eggs have cooked and the potatoes have started to soften – putting them in the same pan saves on the washing up!IMG_4555
  • Run the eggs under cold water and then peel and quarter
  • Drain the potatoes and add to a large frying panIMG_4560
  • Drizzle some olive oil over the top of the potatoes and season with salt and pepper then lightly fry for 5-10 minutes until the potatoes have turned golden brownIMG_4561
  • In a separate pan on a high heat, quickly fry your tuna steaks for a few minutes on each side so they remain pink in the middle. Pour over the marinade as you are cooking them.
  • In a large bowl, add the chopped tomatoes, lettuce, cucumber and olives and drizzle over some olive oil, a dash of balsamic vinegar, a squeeze of lemon juice and season with some salt and pepper.IMG_4563
  • Mix so the salad is well-dressed then lay it on your plates
  • Add the potatoes and egg quartersIMG_4564
  • Place the piece of tuna on top and then drizzle over the juices from the panIMG_4567
  • I’m afraid to say I added a big dollop of mayonnaise on my plate too but a squeeze of lemon and some fresh parsley should suffice!
About hannahhotcakes

My name is Hannah. I live near Bath in a lovely village in the Cotswolds with my husband Ian, the love of my life for the past 10 years, in our dream cottage. I have landed my dream job as a primary school teacher and I can’t think of anything else I would rather be doing. I am a self-confessed foodie and I love to cook, bake, and eat out as much as possible. Here are some things I love: My friends and family, travelling, fresh flowers, good books, having breakfast on my balcony, horror films, Christmas, tea, Las Vegas, lie-ins, red wine, Liverpool FC, music, sausage dogs, Spain, rare steak, fashion, cheese, American TV series and camping. And here are my pet hates: People dressed as animals, whistling, being rushed, being made to wait, girls who act stupid to impress a man, spiders, sunburn and rocket (it comes with EVERYTHING!)

Leave a Reply

