RSS Feed

Recipe – Creamy Rice Pudding

I have had a lovely ‘me’ day today in Bath starting with a haircut, colour and head massage, then a coffee and a catch up with a good friend, some sales shopping and lunch with my boy!

photo7 photo8

I am starting to get the back-to-work panic now so spent the rest of the afternoon drinking a copious amount of tea and getting myself sorted for the start of term on Monday.

Now, I know today’s recipe is totally unsuitable for those eat healthier/ lose weight/ get fit resolutions that are floating around but it is a great way to use up all that cream you may have left in the fridge after hosting for Christmas and New Year. I hate waste, especially throwing perfectly good food away, so I would much rather use it up in a tasty way and start my diet a few days later than just bin it because I am so caught up on following a new rule!

I was halfway through cooking this dish when I realised that rice pudding is one of the least photogenic foods I have made and I have to admit that I struggled to find a shot where this creamy delight looked appetising! See what I mean?!

IMG_4542

This is where you will have to trust me, dear readers! This pudding is delicious and is, for me, the epitome of comfort food.

I was going to get all foodie and make a really inventive version combining different flavours but something in me decided to keep it simple and school dinner-esque with just a few drops of vanilla extract and some freshly grated nutmeg.

IMG_4536

The beauty of this simple recipe is that now you have the basics, you can add whatever you fancy; fruit, nuts, jam, chocolate chips, syrups…it’s up to you!

The below amount made enough for two people.

Ingredients

photo6

50g of pudding rice

250ml of single cream

250ml of milk

25g of caster sugar

A few drops of vanilla extract

A pinch of freshly grated nutmeg

15g of butter

How to make it

  • Begin by preheating your oven to 150°C, Gas Mark 2
  • Rinse your pudding rice out in a sieve under cold waterIMG_4535
  • In a saucepan, add the cream, milk, sugar, vanilla and nutmeg and simmer on a low to medium heat until the sugar has melted
  • Add the rice and stir wellIMG_4538
  • Grease an ovenproof dish then pour in the creamy rice mixture, giving it one last stir
  • Dot the butter over the top and place in the oven for about an hour and a halfIMG_4539
  • I took mine out every 20 minutes or so to give it a stirIMG_4541
  • You may find you want to add a little more milk if the rice absorbs it all – I like my rice pudding quite runny
  • Serve warm and enjoy!
About hannahhotcakes

My name is Hannah. I live near Bath in a lovely village in the Cotswolds with my husband Ian, the love of my life for the past 10 years, in our dream cottage. I have landed my dream job as a primary school teacher and I can’t think of anything else I would rather be doing. I am a self-confessed foodie and I love to cook, bake, and eat out as much as possible. Here are some things I love: My friends and family, travelling, fresh flowers, good books, having breakfast on my balcony, horror films, Christmas, tea, Las Vegas, lie-ins, red wine, Liverpool FC, music, sausage dogs, Spain, rare steak, fashion, cheese, American TV series and camping. And here are my pet hates: People dressed as animals, whistling, being rushed, being made to wait, girls who act stupid to impress a man, spiders, sunburn and rocket (it comes with EVERYTHING!)

Leave a Reply

