RSS Feed

So Fresh and So Clean, Clean

It may just be me, but it feels like today is the first ‘proper’ day of the year. Most people I know are going back to work today (I don’t go back until Monday, so I hope that didn’t sound too smug!) and let’s be honest, January 1st is pretty much a write-off! You are usually feeling hungover, the house is a post-party mess and the only thing you feel like doing is sitting on the sofa – I sat in my onesie and watched Julie and Julia in case you were wondering!

I’m not too sure what came over me today, but I actually forced myself to get up before 8am whilst Ian was getting ready for work and since then have been on a cleaning frenzy!

IMG_4391 IMG_4513

It started off with wanting to put the Christmas decorations away (sniff sniff…our house looks so bare now!) and while trying to squeeze our 6ft tree back into its tiny box I made a bit of mess and the tree shed a few fake leaves!

So far, I have hoovered, mopped and dusted the living room, beat our rug clean (have you any idea how much effort that takes?! Neither did I!) and even gave the sofa some posh leather waxing treatment! This need to clean doesn’t happen to me too often so I am embracing it and am on to the next room!

Whilst lying on the sofa yesterday, I enjoyed reading some of my favourite blogs and seeing the different New Year’s Resolutions that have been made. Some were ambitious career-based ones, some were fun and others pretty much sapped the fun out of life – no chocolate or alcohol in January…why?!

Along with reading these resolutions, there were the inevitable articles about why this practice is so bad and how we will only feel crap in a few weeks when we realise we cannot keep them up.

I admit I wrote my New Year’s Resolutions post a few days ago and upon reflection I don’t think they are too ambitious or unrealistic. I think the 5 areas that I have chosen to focus on can be picked up at any point throughout the year should I get a bit slack with one of them and I like to think of them more as lifestyle changes as opposed to a new fad that will only last a few weeks.

I also think that sharing my resolutions on my blog, although quite personal, adds some accountability to them and now that I have put it out there, people know and may check up on me!

To that end, I found myself dusting off my trainers (well, Converse – note to self: buy some decent trainers!) and taking myself off on a 3 mile walk this morning around the outskirts of the village…I told you I was on a roll today!

photo2 photo3

I power-walked off that slice of Battenburg cake I had before I went to bed last night (thanks Han!) whilst listening to a foodie podcast about the perfect pudding…my ideal motivation! It was a lovely crisp and refreshing morning and I felt great when I got home.

I have also got the old Spanish dictionary down off the bookshelf to help me write a long overdue email to catch up with a friend in Spain, full of grammatical errors I’m sure!

I can’t really do too much in the garden at the moment (well, it is currently more of a bog!) but I did start my new and improved skincare routine last night and applied night cream, under-eye cream, foot cream and hand cream before I went to bed!

photo1

Finally, on the friendship-front I have booked in a lunch date and dinner with different people so I am on the right track!

OK, so I know it is very easy to be so enthusiastic about these resolutions at the beginning of the year, and I will definitely find it more difficult to keep them up once I start work again, but I have to say that I feel great with the small start I have made. It also made me realise how little time these things actually take up so I don’t really have an excuse not to carry on with them.

I want to be able to write a similar post to this next January and really feel that I have achieved the things I set out to do, hopefully with lots of additional adventures along the way!

Oh yeah, and a high five to those who got the Outkast reference in the title!

About hannahhotcakes

My name is Hannah. I live near Bath in a lovely village in the Cotswolds with my husband Ian, the love of my life for the past 10 years, in our dream cottage. I have landed my dream job as a primary school teacher and I can’t think of anything else I would rather be doing. I am a self-confessed foodie and I love to cook, bake, and eat out as much as possible. Here are some things I love: My friends and family, travelling, fresh flowers, good books, having breakfast on my balcony, horror films, Christmas, tea, Las Vegas, lie-ins, red wine, Liverpool FC, music, sausage dogs, Spain, rare steak, fashion, cheese, American TV series and camping. And here are my pet hates: People dressed as animals, whistling, being rushed, being made to wait, girls who act stupid to impress a man, spiders, sunburn and rocket (it comes with EVERYTHING!)

Leave a Reply

