RSS Feed

Farewell 2012

Well, it is that time of the year again where we look back over the highs and lows of the last 12 months, be grateful for what we have and start looking forward to a new year.

I had a low-key start to 2012, welcoming in the New Year with my love in our old flat with some great wine, good cheese and Jools Holland on the TV…perfection!

IMG_0465

2012 was a really important year career-wise for me. I passed my NQT year, found a job I absolutely love and have slotted in to the rather wonderful school I work in.

The biggest event for me and Ian in 2012 was our move from being renters in a cool, city-centre flat to owning a lovely house out in the country.

IMG_0805 IMG_0807

I think we have settled in well to the more relaxed way of life out here and I love the friendliness of being in a village, being outside more and definitely the great pubs we have nearby!

IMG_1701

IMG_1224

IMG_0929

IMG_1215

IMG_0815

Having bought a ‘project’ house, a large chunk of our salaries and weekends have gone into redecorating which has been exhausting at times but we are now three rooms down…not too bad for two people who don’t really know what they are doing and work full-time! I will post some before and after pictures in the New Year.

IMG_1593

IMG_1397

IMG_3374

IMG_0821

Another thing I have loved has been having a garden. This has been one of the wettest years I can remember, so we haven’t done as much to the garden as we had hoped but we have big plans moving forwards. We have tried to make the most of the few days of sunshine we did have with al fresco meals and BBQs. We were lucky to have moved in to quite a well-established garden and it has been lovely to see it change throughout the year with daffodils in the spring, roses in the summer and berries in the autumn.

IMG_1079

IMG_1932

IMG_1936

IMG_2463

IMG_2467

IMG_1080 IMG_1702

IMG_4036

IMG_1237

IMG_1095

IMG_2375

IMG_1098

IMG_1082

One sacrifice we have had to make this year was our big annual summer holiday and I have to admit I did miss it! I did however try to have several short breaks away and make the most of these, from camping in Dorset for my birthday, weekends in Liverpool, Birmingham, London, Salisbury and Startford-Upon-Avon, and a fantastic wedding too.

IMG_2081

IMG_2417

IMG_2617

IMG_2942

IMG_2972

IMG_3116

IMG_3132

IMG_3610

IMG_3676

IMG_3135

IMG_3150

wedding 5

london1

london6

IMG_2142

One of the most interesting set of posts I have done on my blog was my Euro 2012 cooking challenge where I cooked my way through dishes from all 16 participating countries! Definitely a challenge but very rewarding to try a lot of new food!

IMG_2473 IMG_2507IMG_2576

IMG_2579

IMG_2353

In recent months, I have tried to improve a skill that I really admire and that is nail art! I have played it fairly safe so far but having gone to the effort of growing my nails, I really want to show them off in a creative way and I have watched some great online tutorials recently so have some new ideas to share soon.

spot1

IMG_3962

nail 1

star8

baubles1

blue8

bow1

IMG_0412

There have of course been lots of other highs and lows throughout the year but it is now time to look forward and focus on the next 12 months.

Ian and I are hosting a little ‘bad jumpers’ New Year’s Eve party tonight and I have food to prepare, a house to clean and cocktails to make. I will be back next year(!) with my resolutions and hopes for 2013…although this will depend on the hangover I may have in the morning!

Thank you for all your support over the past year and I hope you have a great New Year’s Eve tonight!

xxx

About hannahhotcakes

My name is Hannah. I live near Bath in a lovely village in the Cotswolds with my husband Ian, the love of my life for the past 10 years, in our dream cottage. I have landed my dream job as a primary school teacher and I can’t think of anything else I would rather be doing. I am a self-confessed foodie and I love to cook, bake, and eat out as much as possible. Here are some things I love: My friends and family, travelling, fresh flowers, good books, having breakfast on my balcony, horror films, Christmas, tea, Las Vegas, lie-ins, red wine, Liverpool FC, music, sausage dogs, Spain, rare steak, fashion, cheese, American TV series and camping. And here are my pet hates: People dressed as animals, whistling, being rushed, being made to wait, girls who act stupid to impress a man, spiders, sunburn and rocket (it comes with EVERYTHING!)

Leave a Reply

