RSS Feed

The Post-Christmas Post

Well Christmas has been and gone for another year. I hope you too spent it with your nearest and dearest and received some goodies.

Ian and I spent our first Christmas playing host and hostess in our new home. As a couple, we have spent the last 7 or 8 Christmases together, alternating between our parents’ houses. Luckily, my Mum makes this decision quite easy for us because, being a nurse, she works every other Christmas. This year, we had Ian’s parents, grandad and dog to stay…and my urge to get a puppy has increased tenfold…

xmas28

xmas25

xmas24

Even if he did wake me up at 7am on Christmas morning!

xmas29

Our Christmas dinner was a success. We had duck and gammon and managed to get all the different dishes ready at the same time. It is funny how we spend 5 hours plus cooking a meal that is devoured in about 20 minutes…but it was worth every bite, and the leftovers were fabulous too!

xmas27

xmas26

I felt very lucky with my gifts from Santa this year. Here are a few of them:

xmas23

xmas21

xmas17

xmas16

xmas15

xmas13

xmas11

xmas10 xmas8 xmas7

On Boxing Day, we headed to my parents’ house to do it all over again, which meant more food, more presents and more friends and family. We got my parents a new iPad so spent most of the time teaching them how to use it!

xmas20

xmas19

xmas18

Now we are back home again, I am starting to get the urge to detox both my house and body. I am getting rather sick of feeling ridiculously full all day long so we will be cutting down on our portion sizes and eating a tad healthier again and I am also going to have a good wardrobe sort out and get rid of some bags of stuff to the charity shop. I have hit the sales over the past few days and am trying to impose the rule of throwing away something old for something new.

Overall, we have had a lovely Christmas and I’m happy to have spent part of it in our new home. I hope you did too and are enjoying the last few days of 2012!

xmas22

About hannahhotcakes

My name is Hannah. I live near Bath in a lovely village in the Cotswolds with my husband Ian, the love of my life for the past 10 years, in our dream cottage. I have landed my dream job as a primary school teacher and I can’t think of anything else I would rather be doing. I am a self-confessed foodie and I love to cook, bake, and eat out as much as possible. Here are some things I love: My friends and family, travelling, fresh flowers, good books, having breakfast on my balcony, horror films, Christmas, tea, Las Vegas, lie-ins, red wine, Liverpool FC, music, sausage dogs, Spain, rare steak, fashion, cheese, American TV series and camping. And here are my pet hates: People dressed as animals, whistling, being rushed, being made to wait, girls who act stupid to impress a man, spiders, sunburn and rocket (it comes with EVERYTHING!)

Leave a Reply

