RSS Feed

Latest Purchases #12 – Dotcomgiftshop Christmas Delivery

I have blogged before about this website: it is one of my favourites for gifts and other treats for the home. I wanted some new decorations for our tree and also some Christmas presents so placed an order.

You can imagine my delight when this box arrived a few days later, packed full of goodies!

IMG_4287

I ordered some glassware and other delicate items and they arrived well packaged and protected from any clumsy postmen!

IMG_4289

We inherited a black John Lewis artificial tree from my parents this year, nicknamed the Goth tree! Black trees were very trendy last year but, to be honest you can’t really tell that it’s black as it simply looks dark green when lit by the glow of fairy lights.

I decided on my colour scheme for this year…silver, white and red and I wanted lots of vintage looking decorations. Dotcomgiftshop has an amazing selection of decorations for the home with lots on offer at the moment.

Here are the tree decorations I bought:

A red ‘Jingle Bell’ wreath, which was my favourite item and sounds like sleigh bells when you shake it! (£1.50)IMG_4298

3 hand painted wooden sleighs (£1.50)IMG_4290

An antique silver star decoration, with bell (£1)IMG_4300

A red and white spotty wooden star (£1)IMG_4293

A red gingham-print (slightly wonky!) star decoration (£1)IMG_4302

A silver Christmas tree decoration with a music note print (£1)IMG_4316

IMG_4317

3 hand painted wooden heart decorations, which will still look good hanging up after Christmas and match my duck egg dining room perfectly! (£1.50)IMG_4295

IMG_4297

An antique silver heart decoration, with bell (£1)IMG_4304

A gorgeous silver reindeer decoration, with bell – my second favourite purchase (£1)IMG_4306

A silver Christmas tree decoration, with bell (£1)IMG_4308

A silver star decoration with a music note print (£1)IMG_4310

IMG_4311

A hand painted wooden star decoration, tied up with lovely ribbon (£1)IMG_4319

An antique silver cherub decoration, with bell (£1)IMG_4321

3 hand painted wooden stocking decorations (£1.50)IMG_4322

I also bought some things for around the house and present wrapping:

Some vintage style raffia ribbons. I won’t just use these over Christmas. I like using plain paper to wrap presents, usually brown parcel paper, then jazz it up with pretty ribbon and string, and these pastel colours will look lovely (£1)IMG_4323

Some of these retro-design Christmas cards. I usually stick to Paperchase for cards but I loved the print on this and I thought it looked very Cath Kidston but for a fraction of the price (50p)IMG_4324

A metal holly wreath card holder. I think this looks rather lovely as it is so I may not use it to hold cards (£2.95)IMG_4334

IMG_4335

‘NOEL’ hanging letters. I like the look of the white letters against the brown string and these can be hung on the fireplace or on the tree itself (£1)IMG_4336

IMG_4339

I also bought the same lettering spelling out ‘LOVE’ and ‘HOME’ which I will have hanging throughout the year (both £1 each)IMG_4340

IMG_4341

And then a couple of random items:

A set of pretty paper cups, which I am thinking of using for mulled wine when we have people over in the next few weeks (£1)IMG_4314

This candy coloured spotty egg warmer in the shape of a rabbit…just because! (£1)IMG_4326

These beautiful jelly moulds which I love and cannot wait to experiment with. After trying out Pimms jelly this summer I am thinking of a Christmas-inspired jelly to serve between courses on Christmas day…maybe mulled wine or sloe gin jelly?! (£2.95)IMG_4327

IMG_4331

A vintage-style milk bottle, which I will use as a vase (£2.95)IMG_4332

There is still plenty of time to get your Christmas shopping done and if, like me, you want to avoid the queues at the tills then have a look at this lovely website for some inspiration.

Work is getting in the way of transforming my home at the moment but I plan to have a decorating/ card writing/ present wrapping spree at some point this weekend so I will share some pictures of our tree this year and any other areas I get around to decorating! x

About hannahhotcakes

My name is Hannah. I live near Bath in a lovely village in the Cotswolds with my husband Ian, the love of my life for the past 10 years, in our dream cottage. I have landed my dream job as a primary school teacher and I can’t think of anything else I would rather be doing. I am a self-confessed foodie and I love to cook, bake, and eat out as much as possible. Here are some things I love: My friends and family, travelling, fresh flowers, good books, having breakfast on my balcony, horror films, Christmas, tea, Las Vegas, lie-ins, red wine, Liverpool FC, music, sausage dogs, Spain, rare steak, fashion, cheese, American TV series and camping. And here are my pet hates: People dressed as animals, whistling, being rushed, being made to wait, girls who act stupid to impress a man, spiders, sunburn and rocket (it comes with EVERYTHING!)

Leave a Reply

