RSS Feed

Recipe – Amazing Roast Potatoes

Seeing as Ian and I are playing hosts this year, my thoughts are starting to turn to the most important meal in the festive calendar…Christmas Dinner.

The meat obviously plays a key part but decent side dishes can really make or break your meal.

We try to have a roast dinner most Sundays if we are home but can sometimes take the easy way out and simply chop and roast all of our vegetables in one tray to cut down on prep and washing up.

IMG_4251

This weekend, I had a little test run of some Christmas recipes and wanted to share with you one side dish that I have mastered…Goose Fat Roast Potatoes.

IMG_4243

I have had goose fat roasties in various restaurants but have never made them myself. Favoured by celebrity chefs for its high roasting point, goose fat is now readily available in most supermarkets and for me there is no going back!

Here are my tips for the perfect roast potatoes to enjoy this Christmas or simply for a good Sunday Roast!

  • Make sure you start off with the right type of potatoes. You want a floury, not a waxy, variety of potato and I think Maris Piper potatoes are good all-rounders and ideal for roasting. If you get your potatoes from a supermarket, it will usually say on the bag what they are good for.
  • Begin by heating up your fat until it is smoking hot. Spoon some of the goose fat from the jar into your ovenproof tray or dish and pop it into a preheated oven at 190°C, Gas Mark 5IMG_4248
  • Peel your potatoes and cut them into chunks
  • There is a school of thought that believes the potatoes should be placed in cold water and brought up to the boil but there have been times where I have been in a bit of a rush and simple poured a kettle of boiling water over my potatoes in the pan and it didn’t result in disaster!
  • Parboil your potatoes until they have slightly softened – this should take 5-10 minutes.IMG_4249
  • Drain your potatoes and then, using the colander as a sort of lid, shake the potatoes vigorously. This is the most important part of the process because you want lots of surface area and rough bits sticking up on your potatoes to allow them to crisp up later.IMG_4254IMG_4253
  • Carefully, tip your fluffed up potatoes into the hot goose fat – they should sizzle – and make sure all the potatoes are coated in the fat.IMG_4256
  • I add salt and pepper at this point tooIMG_4257
  • Roast the potatoes for about an hour, taking them out at 20 minute intervals to turn them over to ensure the whole potato is coated and crispyIMG_4259
  • And here they are…golden, crispy and deliciousIMG_4265IMG_4264
  • Soft and fluffy on the inside too and the perfect accompaniment to our roast lambpots
About hannahhotcakes

My name is Hannah. I live near Bath in a lovely village in the Cotswolds with my husband Ian, the love of my life for the past 10 years, in our dream cottage. I have landed my dream job as a primary school teacher and I can’t think of anything else I would rather be doing. I am a self-confessed foodie and I love to cook, bake, and eat out as much as possible. Here are some things I love: My friends and family, travelling, fresh flowers, good books, having breakfast on my balcony, horror films, Christmas, tea, Las Vegas, lie-ins, red wine, Liverpool FC, music, sausage dogs, Spain, rare steak, fashion, cheese, American TV series and camping. And here are my pet hates: People dressed as animals, whistling, being rushed, being made to wait, girls who act stupid to impress a man, spiders, sunburn and rocket (it comes with EVERYTHING!)

3 responses »

  1. Looks amazing, will have to try

    Reply
  2. Pingback: Recipe – Rack of Lamb | hannahhotcakes

Leave a Reply

