RSS Feed

My Handmade Wreath

This weekend has been near-perfect for me.

It began with a well-deserved lie-in then a wander around our nearest town of Bradford on Avon. It is a pretty place, full of old buildings, lovely coffee shops and great pubs.

boa6

The river was finally under control after it burst its banks last week.

boa4

boa5

Lots of places had their Christmas decorations up, making the shops look even lovelier than usual.

boa1

Bradford on Avon has a lot of little shops selling things for the home, the type to just wander around picking up trinkets and design ideas. They even had a shop dedicated to locally made crafts and pieces of art.

boa3

boa2

We also popped into a vintage fair that was on and I managed to pick up a book I had been wanting to read for a while and these lovely floral plates which were just 20p for the pair!

IMG_4215

IMG_4214

IMG_4212

IMG_4213Today’s post is all about this year’s Christmas wreath and I had a go at making mine from scratch.

I love wreaths on the front door and it is something that I do not just limit to December time! I have had this red and white berry one up over the summer:

IMG_0049

And this pastel-coloured egg one up over Easter:

IMG_1284

Christmas is simply an excuse to swap to a more festive offering!

Given that this was my first homemade wreath, I went for quite a small one and picked up this artificial wreath from Tesco for less than £1.

IMG_4166

I began by removing the packaging and then fluffing out the branches so it looked full and round.

IMG_4170

Then, it was all about having a play around! I got a few different baubles, pretty ribbon and hanging signs and experimented with them.

IMG_4189

IMG_4187

IMG_4181

IMG_4183

IMG_4184

IMG_4180

IMG_4176

IMG_4177

I asked Ian’s Mum to make me some miniature bunting which she very kindly did from pieces of felt.

IMG_4174

I love these cute straw decorations from Zara Home:

IMG_4178

And I got these at Ikea recently:

IMG_4175

I finally decided on a traditional colour-combination of silver, red, white and green and was happy I managed to include some sparkle, a Christmas message and my mini bunting!

IMG_4201

IMG_4199

And here it is, hung on the front door and ready to welcome people in for a glass of mulled wine!

IMG_4218

IMG_4217

This design is not permanent and I will change it again next year so it is completely original and personal. I would urge you to have a go at your own wreath too – this cost me about £3 to make.

I spent yesterday hovering, dusting, mopping and tidying ready for the Christmas decorations to be put up and we are about halfway through. The tree is up, Christmas pyjamas are on and mulled wine candles were burning last night.

photo3

photo2

photo1

Because we could only really fit a small Christmas tree in our flat in previous years, we are upgrading to a full-sized tree this year. I felt we didn’t have quite enough lights and decorations for a bigger tree so I have placed an order with one of my favourite online shops, dotcomgiftshop. As soon as that has arrived, I can finish decorating then will share some pictures of my home with you.

About hannahhotcakes

My name is Hannah. I live near Bath in a lovely village in the Cotswolds with my husband Ian, the love of my life for the past 10 years, in our dream cottage. I have landed my dream job as a primary school teacher and I can’t think of anything else I would rather be doing. I am a self-confessed foodie and I love to cook, bake, and eat out as much as possible. Here are some things I love: My friends and family, travelling, fresh flowers, good books, having breakfast on my balcony, horror films, Christmas, tea, Las Vegas, lie-ins, red wine, Liverpool FC, music, sausage dogs, Spain, rare steak, fashion, cheese, American TV series and camping. And here are my pet hates: People dressed as animals, whistling, being rushed, being made to wait, girls who act stupid to impress a man, spiders, sunburn and rocket (it comes with EVERYTHING!)

2 responses »

  1. Reblogged this on Annette J Dunlea Irish Author and commented:
    Hannah’s makes a Christmas wreath, lovely Xmas ideas..thanks Hannah for posting

    Reply

Leave a Reply

