RSS Feed

Latest Purchases #10 – My Vintage Jacket

I met up with my best friends this weekend in Birmingham to hit the markets.

First up was a market of the vintage kind. Birmingham has a very cool vintage scene with lots of gorgeous shops and markets popping up on a regular basis. We went to The Custard Factory again to have a browse of all the lovely clothes and accessories.

There was a great range available but we all seemed to gravitate towards coats…

All three of us girls ended up buying jackets and all three were rather fabulous! Hannah got a beautiful pale brown fur coat, Lucie got an original 1960s cape (I sooooo want a cape now!) and I got this vintage silk Chinese jacket.

I wasn’t on the lookout for a coat but I found this jade-coloured beauty with a £5 price tag and after seeing the time and care that went into it, I just couldn’t leave it behind!

It is still in need of a bit of an iron but I love it.

The detail in the flowers and fastenings is really beautiful.

This obviously isn’t for daily wear(!), but I think it will make a rather gorgeous statement jacket over an LBD or with black skinnies and a simple top. I am determined to get at least one wear out of it over Christmas so I will post some pictures when I do!

After our vintage haul, we headed up to the German Christmas Market which graces Birmingham every year and sells an amazing variety of gifts, toys and most importantly food and mulled wine!

I had to get some potatoes and mushrooms drenched in garlic sauce (my favourite!) and Ian indulged in some proper German sausage!

Unfortunately, the weather was pretty grim and it wasn’t ideal for wandering around so we took shelter in a local pub which served an equally delicious and warming mulled wine!

About hannahhotcakes

My name is Hannah. I live near Bath in a lovely village in the Cotswolds with my husband Ian, the love of my life for the past 10 years, in our dream cottage. I have landed my dream job as a primary school teacher and I can’t think of anything else I would rather be doing. I am a self-confessed foodie and I love to cook, bake, and eat out as much as possible. Here are some things I love: My friends and family, travelling, fresh flowers, good books, having breakfast on my balcony, horror films, Christmas, tea, Las Vegas, lie-ins, red wine, Liverpool FC, music, sausage dogs, Spain, rare steak, fashion, cheese, American TV series and camping. And here are my pet hates: People dressed as animals, whistling, being rushed, being made to wait, girls who act stupid to impress a man, spiders, sunburn and rocket (it comes with EVERYTHING!)

Leave a Reply

