RSS Feed

Recipe – Puff Pastry Puddings

I had some leftover puff pastry after making my chicken pie last week and I decided to put it to good use and have a play around with some different pudding ideas. Puff pastry is fast becoming one of my fridge staples – I love the way you can quickly make a delicious sweet or savoury tart if someone pops by and surprises you!

I decided to have a go at a banoffee tart, a chocolate tart and some nutty, chocolate twists.

I love this sort of cooking, where there is no set plan or recipe to follow and I can just spend a few hours in the kitchen, playing around with ingredients and different combinations.

For this reason, I will just give you the basics of what I did as I wasn’t really taking note of any amounts and measurements!

First of all the two tarts:

I began by rolling out the leftover pastry and used my cookie cutter to make four circles

I then pricked them with a fork and placed them on a baking tray

For the chocolate tart, I simply popped a chocolate truffle in the middle of the pastry and then brushed the edges with milk…simples!

For the banoffee tart, I placed three slices of freshly chopped banana in the middle of the pastry then brushed the edges with milk again.

For the twists, I rolled out some pastry and cut them into long, thin slices

I brushed them lightly with some milk, sprinkled over chopped nuts and chocolate sprinkles and pressed them gently into the pastry

I then twisted the strips a few times and placed them on the baking tray

I baked all of the items for about 15 minutes in a preheated oven at 200°C, Gas Mark 5, until they had browned and risen

To finish off the banoffee tarts I drizzled over my absolute favourite topping, Dulce de Leche caramel sauce.

I also tried one of the tarts with some chocolate sprinkles on top which was equally as delicious.

I would make all three of these again, especially the banoffee tarts.

The twists were great too and I plan to perfect this recipe and make a batch of these to serve stood upright in glasses over Christmas (sorry if I keep slipping the C-word into my posts lately but its getting close!)

About hannahhotcakes

My name is Hannah. I live near Bath in a lovely village in the Cotswolds with my husband Ian, the love of my life for the past 10 years, in our dream cottage. I have landed my dream job as a primary school teacher and I can’t think of anything else I would rather be doing. I am a self-confessed foodie and I love to cook, bake, and eat out as much as possible. Here are some things I love: My friends and family, travelling, fresh flowers, good books, having breakfast on my balcony, horror films, Christmas, tea, Las Vegas, lie-ins, red wine, Liverpool FC, music, sausage dogs, Spain, rare steak, fashion, cheese, American TV series and camping. And here are my pet hates: People dressed as animals, whistling, being rushed, being made to wait, girls who act stupid to impress a man, spiders, sunburn and rocket (it comes with EVERYTHING!)

Leave a Reply

