RSS Feed

Birdcage Nails

It was my school’s firework display last night which meant wrapping up warm for a few hours in the cold but it was time well spent! The flat Ian and I used to live in overlooked Bath Rec where they held an excellent firework show every November, meaning we had a front row ticket to it. I did miss it this year but felt I got my firework fix last night.

If you follow me on Instagram (hannahhotcakes if you fancy it!), you will see that I am posting more and more photos of the nail art I am attempting.

I have struggled my whole life with trying to grow my nails and I can remember it being my New Year Resolution for about 8 years running to try and stop biting them!

When I lived and studied in Spain, my university was right next to a lovely little nail bar which offered a manicure and hand massage for just 4 Euros and it provided the perfect incentive to stop biting my nails. For a year, I had lovely, long, manicured nails (and very soft hands!)

Over the past year or so, I have actually managed to master the nail growing again and have rewarded myself with some pretty new nail varnishes and more recently a bit of experimentation with various forms of nail art.

It all started with a trip to a vintage nail salon where I saw some amazing examples and I had one of those ‘I can do that’ moments so I got busy ordering various things to create some different effects.

Today, I want to show you my vintage style birdcage nails. I have a bit of a thing for birdcages and have several dotted around my home and so when I saw these nail transfers on Amazon I had to have them!

As you can see, they are all different sizes so you can make sure each of your nails has a perfect fit.

Here is what you will need to recreate this look:

A nail file, a coloured nail varnish of your choice, clear nail varnish, your nail transfers, a pair of scissors and a small bowl of water.

Begin with neatly filed, clean nails

Paint them with two coats of a colour of your choice. I opted for a lovely lilac colour by e.l.f which was pale enough to allow the nail transfer to show through to full effect – any darker and I don’t think the detail would be seen.

When your nails have dried, cut out your nail transfer…it gets slightly fiddly from here!

Drop the nail transfer in the water, face down for about 10 seconds

Carefully fish out the transfer and lay it face down on your nail(s)

Press down for a few seconds and when you peel it off, the gorgeous pattern will be affixed to your nails looking lovely!

Seal the transfer with a layer of clear nail varnish.

This effect has lasted for over a week so far and I have had lots of compliments, mainly from the kids in my class who now look at my nails every Monday morning to see what new thing I tried over the weekend!

I admit that I went a bit mad ordering stickers, transfers and other nail art equipment, so I expect there will be quite a few nail-related posts to come over the next few weeks!

About hannahhotcakes

My name is Hannah. I live near Bath in a lovely village in the Cotswolds with my husband Ian, the love of my life for the past 10 years, in our dream cottage. I have landed my dream job as a primary school teacher and I can’t think of anything else I would rather be doing. I am a self-confessed foodie and I love to cook, bake, and eat out as much as possible. Here are some things I love: My friends and family, travelling, fresh flowers, good books, having breakfast on my balcony, horror films, Christmas, tea, Las Vegas, lie-ins, red wine, Liverpool FC, music, sausage dogs, Spain, rare steak, fashion, cheese, American TV series and camping. And here are my pet hates: People dressed as animals, whistling, being rushed, being made to wait, girls who act stupid to impress a man, spiders, sunburn and rocket (it comes with EVERYTHING!)

Leave a Reply

