RSS Feed

Recipe – Honey Flapjacks

These lovely little treats are the perfect thing to have with a cup of tea when you get in from work and as they contain oats you can sort of convince yourself that they are pretty healthy too!

I used honey in the place of syrup in these flapjacks as I didn’t fancy that sickly sweet taste golden syrup has and I felt honey would work better with the other ingredients I added.

Like most of the things I make, this recipe can be so easily adapted to include your favourite nuts or dried fruit – I fancy making cranberry and pistachio flapjacks next to give a slightly Middle-Eastern twist on a classic.

Ingredients

150g of unsalted butter or margarine

150g of brown sugar

150g of honey

300g of porridge oats

50g of sultanas (or any other dried fruit)

35g of mixed nuts

How to make it

  • Begin by greasing your cake tin for the muffins – I used a regular rectangular one that I use for brownies and tray bakes
  • Preheat the oven to 180°C/ Gas Mark 4
  • Place the butter, sugar and honey in a non-stick pan and, on a low heat, stir until the ingredients have melted
  • Add the oats, dried fruit and nuts and mix well until all the dry ingredients are coated
  • Pour the mixture into the cake tin and pat down until smooth
  • Bake for 15-20 minutes until golden brown
  • Leave to cool then cut a slice and enjoy with a cup of tea

These gorgeous flapjacks have kept well in a cake tin for about 5 days (they wouldn’t last any longer in my house!) and come highly recommended by my recent houseguest Cat!

The only thing I wasn’t too happy with was a few of the raisins which were on top of the flapjack became slightly charred when cooking – does anyone have a good tip for avoiding this? Maybe covering it with foil or poking all of the raisins into the mixture before cooking?! Let me know! x

About hannahhotcakes

My name is Hannah. I live near Bath in a lovely village in the Cotswolds with my husband Ian, the love of my life for the past 10 years, in our dream cottage. I have landed my dream job as a primary school teacher and I can’t think of anything else I would rather be doing. I am a self-confessed foodie and I love to cook, bake, and eat out as much as possible. Here are some things I love: My friends and family, travelling, fresh flowers, good books, having breakfast on my balcony, horror films, Christmas, tea, Las Vegas, lie-ins, red wine, Liverpool FC, music, sausage dogs, Spain, rare steak, fashion, cheese, American TV series and camping. And here are my pet hates: People dressed as animals, whistling, being rushed, being made to wait, girls who act stupid to impress a man, spiders, sunburn and rocket (it comes with EVERYTHING!)

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

