RSS Feed

Latest Purchases #3 –Charbrew Strawberries and Cream Teabags

When I was lying in bed the other night, I realised that I had had 11 cups of tea that day! When I thought about it, I worked out that I average about 8 brews per day which still sounds like a lot and I’m not sure that much caffeine is good for you. Although, my younger brother and I were given a little cup of tea before bed since we were about 7 so I blame my Mum for my addiction today!

For me, there is nothing more comforting than a good cuppa but I feel I need to mix it up a bit so when I saw these fruity tea bags I decided to give them a go.

Now, I am not a huge fan of herbal teas and find that they always sound fabulous on the packet and smell really good but often resemble lukewarm dish water when they are made! I have a collection of fruit teas in the back of my cupboard that have been there for quite a while and only tend to be drunk when we have run out of milk. I spoke to a colleague who advised me that when it comes to the teabags you can’t be cheap and that the ‘posh’ ones really are worth the extra money.

So, with that in mind I bought these Strawberry and Cream teabags by Charbrew.

These lovely little mesh bags looked very nice and smelt divine but it was all about the taste for me.

As per the packet instructions, I brewed this tea for almost 10 minutes and watched the water turn a lovely rosy pink colour.

I have to say that I was pleasantly surprised by this tea. It was very refreshing and had a much stronger flavour than previous teas I had tried – I even got two cups out of the one bag. This flavour contains apple, raisins, carrots, strawberries and beetroot (for colouring) which contributed to a great fruity flavour.

While I won’t be giving up my regular cups of tea completely, in an effort to reduce my caffeine intake I will persevere with the herbal alternatives and these strawberry and cream ones were lovely and actually tasted like real strawberries as opposed to that fake, synthetic strawberry flavour. There was a creamy vanilla note too which meant I didn’t need to add any sugar or honey as it took away the slightly bitter taste you sometimes get with fruit teas.

Charbrew is a small company based in Cheshire who aim to support sustainable farming while bringing a new twist to the UK tea market. They have a variety of different flavours available on their website – I think the next one on my list to try is the Chai.

Do you have any more great herbal teas to recommend? x

About hannahhotcakes

My name is Hannah. I live near Bath in a lovely village in the Cotswolds with my husband Ian, the love of my life for the past 10 years, in our dream cottage. I have landed my dream job as a primary school teacher and I can’t think of anything else I would rather be doing. I am a self-confessed foodie and I love to cook, bake, and eat out as much as possible. Here are some things I love: My friends and family, travelling, fresh flowers, good books, having breakfast on my balcony, horror films, Christmas, tea, Las Vegas, lie-ins, red wine, Liverpool FC, music, sausage dogs, Spain, rare steak, fashion, cheese, American TV series and camping. And here are my pet hates: People dressed as animals, whistling, being rushed, being made to wait, girls who act stupid to impress a man, spiders, sunburn and rocket (it comes with EVERYTHING!)

Leave a Reply

