RSS Feed

Review – The Waft That Woos by Bompas and Parr

This is a review of an art exhibition Ian and I visited during our recent trip to Stratford-Upon-Avon.

Sam Bompas and Harry Parr are artists famous for combining their foodie knowledge with art. In the past they have made a cake-based crazy golf course, flooded Selfridges and made a bright green cocktail boating lake, created a huge chocolate waterfall and set the SS Great Britain in lime green jelly!

I love the thought of taking the theatrical aspect of food and merging it with the art world, so I was very excited to visit Bompas and Parr’s current exhibition, The Waft That Woos.

Housed on the second floor of the RSC, The Waft That Woos claims to be the world’s first mirror maze navigable by your nose.

The idea is based on Shakespeare’s play, The Merry Wives of Windsor (yep, the one we had tickets for which was then cancelled…talk about rubbing it in!), and the key themes of love, deception and confusion which run throughout the drama.

We were met by a row of pink walls and followed the arrows to the entrance. Then it was a hilarious walk trying to find our way through the mirror maze, including lots of bumping into walls and getting very disorientated along the way.

Throughout the maze there was a scent lingering in the air but I don’t feel that we used our noses to guide us through.

We finally made it through to the end and there we could have a sniff of the final scent which is meant to contain an aphrodisiac and make your heart flutter!

Here is a list of the ingredients included in the love ‘potion’ and once I read this I could definitely pick out some of the scents.

As a concept I think it links perfectly to the themes it sets out to portray. It is a lot of fun yet quite disorientating in the maze with a lovely smelling reward at the end of it.

The Waft That Woos is on at the RSC until April 2012 and if you are in the Stratford-Upon-Avon area then I highly recommend you pop in for a bit of a giggle!

About hannahhotcakes

My name is Hannah. I live near Bath in a lovely village in the Cotswolds with my husband Ian, the love of my life for the past 10 years, in our dream cottage. I have landed my dream job as a primary school teacher and I can’t think of anything else I would rather be doing. I am a self-confessed foodie and I love to cook, bake, and eat out as much as possible. Here are some things I love: My friends and family, travelling, fresh flowers, good books, having breakfast on my balcony, horror films, Christmas, tea, Las Vegas, lie-ins, red wine, Liverpool FC, music, sausage dogs, Spain, rare steak, fashion, cheese, American TV series and camping. And here are my pet hates: People dressed as animals, whistling, being rushed, being made to wait, girls who act stupid to impress a man, spiders, sunburn and rocket (it comes with EVERYTHING!)

Leave a Reply

