RSS Feed

Latest Purchases #1

So, the day of our romantic weekend away has come and it didn’t get off to the best start…

Ian’s iPad slipped out of my hand last night (in my defence, my hands were wet from doing the washing up!) and the screen cracked meaning I am now in the dog house! I feel absolutely awful and am currently googling local repair centres to see if I can save it before my credit card takes a heavy hit – bad times!

No sooner had that happened than I received an email from the Royal Shakespeare Company informing us that the play for which we had tickets this weekend was cancelled. I was looking forward to a trip to the theatre but these things can’t be helped and we will just go for a nice meal instead. They say that bad things come in threes so I am slightly apprehensive about what might happen next!

I have decided to start a new feature on hannahhotcakes based on the number of emails I have had requesting details on where I have bought items from that I have featured on my blog and also some things that may appear in photos I post from around my home. I toyed with some names for these posts (my favourite was the rather cheesy ‘Hannah’s Hauls’!) but I decided on the more sensible ‘Latest Purchases’ and I will keep track of the number of these.

I hope to be able to recommend some lovely products that you may not otherwise have known about and also promote some independent businesses.

Today, I wanted to share a new designer called Katie Alice. She produces vintage-inspired tableware which is stocked here. I bought the set of 6 placemats from the Cottage Flower collection.

I love the spotty background, which matches the colour scheme in my dining room perfectly, and the classic heritage-style flower print.

The mats themselves are of a very good quality and easy to wipe clean.

Buying these placemats gave me a bit of an incentive to clear my dining table. I think everyone has that one area in their home where the keys, letters, newspapers and other items get dumped and for us it is the kitchen table. I can even spot my grey wig on there that I recently wore on my school’s Victorian Day!

We had a much smaller table, which we brought with us from our old flat, but recently acquired this larger one from my parents. It is fairly inoffensive although I do have makeover plans for it! As you can see, over half of it was covered in ‘stuff’ meaning we could only really use the small space at one end of it.

You may recognise our old table mats from previous posts:

I love the design of these too but they were starting to look a bit worn and tatty so are now on the bonfire pile!

Here is our dining room with my new Katie Alice placemats and my new candle holders too:

Not too fussy but very pretty.

All it needs now is friends, food and wine!

I will be back on Monday with a post on our trip – have a lovely weekend xxx

About hannahhotcakes

My name is Hannah. I live near Bath in a lovely village in the Cotswolds with my husband Ian, the love of my life for the past 10 years, in our dream cottage. I have landed my dream job as a primary school teacher and I can’t think of anything else I would rather be doing. I am a self-confessed foodie and I love to cook, bake, and eat out as much as possible. Here are some things I love: My friends and family, travelling, fresh flowers, good books, having breakfast on my balcony, horror films, Christmas, tea, Las Vegas, lie-ins, red wine, Liverpool FC, music, sausage dogs, Spain, rare steak, fashion, cheese, American TV series and camping. And here are my pet hates: People dressed as animals, whistling, being rushed, being made to wait, girls who act stupid to impress a man, spiders, sunburn and rocket (it comes with EVERYTHING!)

Leave a Reply

