RSS Feed

Recipe – Winter Vegetable Frittata

I pondered for a little while over what to call this recipe as I’m not 100% sure of the differences between an omelette, tortilla and frittata. But it is basically one of those type dishes and is delicious!

This recipe is very versatile – I called it ‘Winter Vegetable’ but you can use any veggies you have in the cupboard – I happened to have some new potatoes, parsnips, onions and beetroot that needed using up so they all got added to the dish.

Ingredients

A selection of root vegetables, peeled and chopped (I used 1 large beetroot, 6 new potatoes and 4 parsnips)

A glug of olive oil

Salt and pepper

1 onion, chopped

4 eggs

A dash of milk (or cream if you’re feeling naughty)

A pinch of chilli flakes (optional)

A small bunch of fresh parsley, chopped

A handful of cheese, grated (I used smoked applewood cheese, one of my favourites!)

How to make it

  • Begin by roasting your root vegetables: preheat the oven to 180°C, Gas Mark 4, drizzle some oil over the veggies and season with salt and pepper
  • Give the tray a shake to ensure everything is coated and then roast for about 20-25 minutes or until the vegetables have softened
  • In a non-stick pan, lightly fry the onions on a low heat in some oil until they have softened
  • Add the roasted vegetables
  • In a bowl, whisk together the eggs, milk, chilli and parsley and season well
  • Pour the eggs into the pan and ensure the vegetables are all coated
  • Cook for about 5 minutes until the eggs have started to set
  • Sprinkle over the cheese
  • Pop the pan under a hot grill to cook the top of the frittata and when the cheese has melted and started to brown it is ready to serve
  • I enjoyed mine with a simple salad
About hannahhotcakes

My name is Hannah. I live near Bath in a lovely village in the Cotswolds with my husband Ian, the love of my life for the past 10 years, in our dream cottage. I have landed my dream job as a primary school teacher and I can’t think of anything else I would rather be doing. I am a self-confessed foodie and I love to cook, bake, and eat out as much as possible. Here are some things I love: My friends and family, travelling, fresh flowers, good books, having breakfast on my balcony, horror films, Christmas, tea, Las Vegas, lie-ins, red wine, Liverpool FC, music, sausage dogs, Spain, rare steak, fashion, cheese, American TV series and camping. And here are my pet hates: People dressed as animals, whistling, being rushed, being made to wait, girls who act stupid to impress a man, spiders, sunburn and rocket (it comes with EVERYTHING!)

Leave a Reply

