RSS Feed

Recipe – Saag Paneer

The nights are getting colder and darker which means the food I am cooking is getting heartier and a little bit spicier!

I order this spinach and cheese as a side dish a lot when we go out for an Indian but this is the first time I have tried making it myself as a main dish and I think it is one I will make again and again because it was very tasty.

Paneer is a hard cheese which is pretty tasteless straight from the packet but when it is cooked, it takes on the flavour of the spices it is cooked in and adds a lovely cheesey-creaminess to the dish.

Ingredients

About 500g of spinach (I used frozen spinach this time (defrosted), but fresh would work just as well)

A glug of vegetable oil

One onion, chopped

1 teaspoon of cumin

1 teaspoon of fenugreek seeds

1 teaspoon of Lazy Ginger

1 teaspoon of chilli flakes

2 garlic cloves, finely chopped

A pinch of salt

A 250g pack of paneer, cubed

1 teaspoon of garam masala

Half a tub of natural yogurt

A small bunch of fresh coriander

How to make it

  • Heat the oil in a large pan and gently fry the onion for about 5 minutes until it has started to soften
  • Add the cumin, fenugreek, ginger, chilli, garlic and salt and cook for another few minutes
  • Add the spinach and stir well
  • Now add the paneer cubes, garam masala and yogurt
  • Stir and cook for 5 minutes until the paneer is lovely and creamy
  • Sprinkle with some fresh coriander
  • I served mine with rice and naan…delicious!
About hannahhotcakes

My name is Hannah. I live near Bath in a lovely village in the Cotswolds with my husband Ian, the love of my life for the past 10 years, in our dream cottage. I have landed my dream job as a primary school teacher and I can’t think of anything else I would rather be doing. I am a self-confessed foodie and I love to cook, bake, and eat out as much as possible. Here are some things I love: My friends and family, travelling, fresh flowers, good books, having breakfast on my balcony, horror films, Christmas, tea, Las Vegas, lie-ins, red wine, Liverpool FC, music, sausage dogs, Spain, rare steak, fashion, cheese, American TV series and camping. And here are my pet hates: People dressed as animals, whistling, being rushed, being made to wait, girls who act stupid to impress a man, spiders, sunburn and rocket (it comes with EVERYTHING!)

Leave a Reply

