RSS Feed

Recipe – Turkish Delight

I have found that Turkish Delight, along with Parma Violets, can evoke a bit of a Marmite love/hate reaction in people. Some find the taste too floral and perfume-like but if like me you love the delicate flavour of rosewater then you will enjoy this recipe.

This is by no means an authentic Turkish recipe – I found lots of methods for making this sweet treat online but they involved too many ingredients and were much too precise about what temperature to heat the sugar to for my kind of cooking so I came up with this recipe from a variety of sources.

Ingredients

6 gelatine leaves

375g of granulated sugar

A good few drops of rosewater

A few drops of pink food colouring

2-3 tablespoons of icing sugar

 1 tablespoon of corn flour

How to make it

  • In a saucepan, put 225ml of cold water and add the gelatine leaves. Leave them for about 5 minutes
  • Place the pan on a low heat and stir until the gelatine leaves have melted
  • Now add the sugar and stir until dissolved (it does look like a lot of sugar but it will all dissolve eventually!)
  • Bring the mixture to a boil, then reduce the heat and simmer for about 20 minutes, stirring occasionally
  • Take the pan off theheat and allow to cool slightly
  • Add the rosewater and pink food colouring
  • Wet your tin (I used a loaf tin but a muffin try would also work well) and pour in the mixture
  • Allow to cool and then place in the fridge overnight to set
  • Now comes the tricky part of getting the Turkish Delight out of the tin!
  • Begin by sieving the icing sugar and corn flour onto a tray
  • Now, using a wet knife, carefully loosen the edges of the tin
  • If the jelly still doesn’t come out of the tin then hold it over a boiling kettle for a few seconds to loosen it lightly
  • I recommend using a knife with a wet blade to cut the Turkish Delight into bite size pieces

I love giving homemade gifts to friends and I think these will definitely make it onto my Christmas hamper presents. I saw some lovely ideas about how to present these too – my favourite was in a pretty teacup and saucer so the recipient has a lovely dish and sweet treat to enjoy.

There are several variations that I may also try – using orange water or lemon flavouring in place of the rosewater or dipping the Turkish Delight into melted chocolate for an extra indulgent twist!

I may come back to this recipe and tweak it slightly as it is quite sweet – I will update this post if I find any improvements.

About hannahhotcakes

My name is Hannah. I live near Bath in a lovely village in the Cotswolds with my husband Ian, the love of my life for the past 10 years, in our dream cottage. I have landed my dream job as a primary school teacher and I can’t think of anything else I would rather be doing. I am a self-confessed foodie and I love to cook, bake, and eat out as much as possible. Here are some things I love: My friends and family, travelling, fresh flowers, good books, having breakfast on my balcony, horror films, Christmas, tea, Las Vegas, lie-ins, red wine, Liverpool FC, music, sausage dogs, Spain, rare steak, fashion, cheese, American TV series and camping. And here are my pet hates: People dressed as animals, whistling, being rushed, being made to wait, girls who act stupid to impress a man, spiders, sunburn and rocket (it comes with EVERYTHING!)

Leave a Reply

