RSS Feed

Sorting out the Baking Drawers

It has been a gorgeous, sunny weekend here in the West Country.

The leaves are changing colour and our local pub was looking lovely and autumnal when we popped in for a pint and the weekend papers.

I also bought one of these today…

…it is definitely Autumn!

I did a bit of baking this afternoon (recipes to follow soon!) and it was made slightly more challenging than it needed to be by how messy I have allowed my baking drawers to become.

I do feel slightly ashamed showing this picture but I’m always honest on here. Here are the offending drawers:

Can you imagine how awkward it is trying to find something you need in there?!

Not strictly speaking a spring clean but there is a little OCD part of me that likes things to be ordered, neat and tidy, so there was only one thing for it.

I began by laying everything out on the kitchen table so I could see how much stuff I had (lots!!!) and give the empty drawers a good clean.

I also gave my bakeware and accessories a good wash because it is easy for flour and sugar to spill and make things sticky.

The plus side of a good sort out is finding those items you had forgotten all about…

Cake stands:

Cupcake cases:

Cookie cutters:

Cake toppers:

And other random things I tend to pop into the trolley whilst shopping!

In the hope of staying organised, I try to keep as much as possible in Le Parfait jars. They look nicer than lots of different half-used packets and make it easier to find what you are looking for.

Finally, feeling ever so slightly like Monica from Friends, here are my baking drawers now!

Organised, clean and tidy, which makes me want to bake rather than keep it shut in case anyone sees just how messy I can be!

I wish I could say that the rest of my house was like this but I can be quite lazy at times, especially when a cooking programme is on, so this is simply a nugget of calm within a sea of chaos but I find that strangely comforting nonetheless! As Autumn draws in, I want to spend more time at home with the fire on and a hot chocolate in my hands. It is for this reason that I find myself pottering most evenings and weekends as I try to make our home as cosy as possible.

And in case you hadn’t set your Sky box to record it, series 2 of Homeland starts tonight…I’ll be enjoying it with a blackberry turnover and scoop of ice cream! x

About hannahhotcakes

My name is Hannah. I live near Bath in a lovely village in the Cotswolds with my husband Ian, the love of my life for the past 10 years, in our dream cottage. I have landed my dream job as a primary school teacher and I can’t think of anything else I would rather be doing. I am a self-confessed foodie and I love to cook, bake, and eat out as much as possible. Here are some things I love: My friends and family, travelling, fresh flowers, good books, having breakfast on my balcony, horror films, Christmas, tea, Las Vegas, lie-ins, red wine, Liverpool FC, music, sausage dogs, Spain, rare steak, fashion, cheese, American TV series and camping. And here are my pet hates: People dressed as animals, whistling, being rushed, being made to wait, girls who act stupid to impress a man, spiders, sunburn and rocket (it comes with EVERYTHING!)

Leave a Reply

