RSS Feed

Website Review – DotComGiftShop

We have had a proper working weekend, trying to get as many jobs as possible finished around the house. My Dad is staying with us again for a couple of days to finish off the tiling in the bathroom, which is looking really good now, and Ian and I have been in the kitchen, painting and sanding.

There is a possibility we are hosting Christmas this year which has given me an additional boost to get some more rooms finished by then. However, one problem with living in a ‘project house’ where there is so much to do is that classic temptation to start one job before another is finished…case in point our staircase.

We bought a new hot air gun to help with stripping the horrible brown gloss from our bannisters in the hallway and just couldn’t resist having a quick go with it…and lo and behold another project has started!

I am excited though as I can already see how much better it will look when we finally complete it but it does mean walking past an unfinished job every day which makes me feel a bit guilty about not getting on with it.

Today’s review is all about what is fast becoming my go-to website for birthday presents, wedding gifts, school items and general treats for myself, our home and garden. I am not being paid or sponsored for this post – I wanted to share this lovely site. Every friend I have recommended it to so far has said “Wow” and gone on to buy something. If you like retro and vintage-inspired items in your home then you will love this website too…think Cath Kidston, lovely baking equipment and heart-shaped things to hang from door handles and you are on the right track.

Another thing I found out was that this website does AMAZING sales, so keep your eyes peeled! Almost all of the items below that I bought were reduced although many are now back on the site at full price (which makes me feel slightly smug about the bargains I got!)

This was the huge box that arrived at Ian’s office (thank you for lugging it home!) and I was like a child at Christmas! Here are a few of the things I bought:

My Pale Green Enamel Mixing Bowl:

I had wanted one of these ever since I saw the gorgeous Rachel Khoo using hers on The Little Paris Kitchen programme and have made some lovely cakes and cookies with it so far.

My Apple Print Oven Glove and Apron:

A lovely print and I don’t think you can ever have enough oven gloves or pretty aprons!

My White Recipe Holder:

I have lost count of the number of times I have been following a recipe with the book held open by random mugs and bags of sugar! This recipe holder looks lovely on my new dining room shelves and is really handy too.

My Biscuit Cutters:

I love the packaging of these cutters and will christen them when I make my first batch of mince pies over the next few months.

My Russian Doll Notebooks:

Handy for work and great to give as a present.

My ‘Love’ Print:

There is always room for more art on our walls and I loved this delicate print. It is currently hanging balancing over our fireplace.

My Coffee Candle:

Ian and I are both big coffee fans and I love that smell you get when you open a fresh bag of coffee beans. This candle looks very cool and smells lovely so I am loathe to burn it although I am hoping that when I do that lovely creamy vanilla scent will fill the room.

My Spotty Umbrellas:

I seem to be constantly getting caught out in the rain without an umbrella so I thought that these handbag-sized ones would be perfect to avoid getting wet and I also love anything polka-dot.

My Pretty Wrapping Tape:

The red pattern was bought with Christmas in mind – I think that brown parcel paper wrapped up with this festive pattern will look wonderful and the star one is great for children’s gifts.

My Silver Candle Holders:

These cute little silver buckets look just as good on our picnic bench in the summer and dining table in the winter and the cut out shapes cast lovely shadows on the walls.

My Herb Pots:

I love the design of these and they will also look much better on my shelves than the standard supermarket packaging.

My Dove Hearts:

I currently have these hanging off curtain rails, door handles and cupboards and will hang them on the Christmas tree too.

My Mini-Organiser:

I fell in love with this and it has solved my earring storage problem. Being slightly OCD about it, I now have separate drawers for studs, pearls, casual-dangly and dressy-dangly earrings…I know, I should get out more.

My House Number:

When we get around to redecorating our porch (I have always wanted a house with a little porch!) this will be hung up and I think it has a lovely country-cottage look to it.

My Retro Kitchen Clock:

Every kitchen needs a good clock and I like the simplicity of this one, which will be hung up as soon as the paint dries!

My Mini Milk Bottles:

I kept seeing these little glass bottles pop up in design magazines and on other blogs used as vases, milkshake holders and cocktail servers and just had to get some! The little white crate they come in is so handy and they look great as a design piece.

My Mini Kitchen Cabinet:

This is so handy and I love the cutlery hooks to hang things from. The front of the cupboard are blackboards so very handy for writing down shopping lists or just doodling on whilst cooking!

Thermometer and Wooden Spoons:

I admit I was slightly sucked in by the pretty packaging and bird print here but they are always handy nonetheless!

Cards:

It’s always good to have a little card stash for those birthdays that sneak up on you and DotComGiftShop have a lovely selection.

School Stuff:

Handy for little presents and prizes; pencils, rubbers, stickers, pencil sharpeners , all with rather cool Japanese-inspired prints

Now I don’t usually buy this much stuff on a whim but I had to get to the £50 free delivery limit…well, that’s my excuse anyway – I could have bought way more but feel I was actually rather restrained!

I hope you love this website as much as I do and my friends and family can expect most of their Christmas presents from here…with a few items for myself too!

About hannahhotcakes

My name is Hannah. I live near Bath in a lovely village in the Cotswolds with my husband Ian, the love of my life for the past 10 years, in our dream cottage. I have landed my dream job as a primary school teacher and I can’t think of anything else I would rather be doing. I am a self-confessed foodie and I love to cook, bake, and eat out as much as possible. Here are some things I love: My friends and family, travelling, fresh flowers, good books, having breakfast on my balcony, horror films, Christmas, tea, Las Vegas, lie-ins, red wine, Liverpool FC, music, sausage dogs, Spain, rare steak, fashion, cheese, American TV series and camping. And here are my pet hates: People dressed as animals, whistling, being rushed, being made to wait, girls who act stupid to impress a man, spiders, sunburn and rocket (it comes with EVERYTHING!)

3 responses »

  1. Jesus Hannah that’s some serious shopping!! I’m going to have to look at this site myself now!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

