RSS Feed

My Bargain Bowls

We are both feeling pretty rubbish at the moment. We woke up on Sunday morning feeling achy all over and run down with very sore throats.

Ian, not wanting to ‘give in’ to being ill, went off to the supermarket and returned home armed with all manner of vitamins, super fruits and Lucozade (I think the only time I ever drink this is when I’m ill!) so we were dosed up on honey and lemon for most of Sunday.

I woke up on Monday morning thinking all the vitamins must have worked their magic overnight because I felt fine…up until about lunchtime when I threw up, got sent home from school and spent the rest of the day sipping water underneath a duvet on the sofa! I’m at home again today but feeling much better and my appetite is slowly returning, although I have only had some toast so far today, oh and some Lucozade of course!

Today’s post is all about sharing the love, the love of a good bargain. I’m not talking about the deals that appear to be bargains (3 for 2 on jars of honey…who needs that much spare honey?!) but proper ‘run to the tills before they change the price back’ type of bargains.

I nipped into a nearby Matalan store this weekend to pick up some stuff for school and was greeted at the door by a stack of pretty cups and bowls marked down to 50p.

Now I have been lusting over some of these latte bowls by Anthropologie for a little while, but have been waiting to purchase a new kitchen dresser before I bought them as we are starting to run out of cupboard space. However, I couldn’t leave these on the shelf and so picked out three colours; bright green, lilac and turquoise. They also had an acid yellow and a burnt terracotta-red range too but these didn’t really go with the three shades I liked.

I love the soft shades they come in and how they look like miniature mixing bowls – perfect for a scoop of ice-cream, a hot pudding, nibbles or just my morning cereal.

Also on the shelf were these rather gorgeous milkshake cups. They are also china and I love things that match so I had to get a few of these too!

I think I will use these as latte cups, possibly even vases too, and I love how they have a retro American diner look to them.

All of this gorgeous tableware for just £6, which puts a smile on my bargain-loving face!

Now that my nausea has finally passed, I am going to enjoy Nigellissima. I have been looking forward to her new series for ages but couldn’t stomach watching a food programme last night. I think how Nigella feels about Italy is similar to how I feel about Spain so I cannot wait to see the recipes she has come up with and stories that go with them!

About hannahhotcakes

My name is Hannah. I live near Bath in a lovely village in the Cotswolds with my husband Ian, the love of my life for the past 10 years, in our dream cottage. I have landed my dream job as a primary school teacher and I can’t think of anything else I would rather be doing. I am a self-confessed foodie and I love to cook, bake, and eat out as much as possible. Here are some things I love: My friends and family, travelling, fresh flowers, good books, having breakfast on my balcony, horror films, Christmas, tea, Las Vegas, lie-ins, red wine, Liverpool FC, music, sausage dogs, Spain, rare steak, fashion, cheese, American TV series and camping. And here are my pet hates: People dressed as animals, whistling, being rushed, being made to wait, girls who act stupid to impress a man, spiders, sunburn and rocket (it comes with EVERYTHING!)

One response »

  1. Very nice post. I simply stumbled upon your weblog and wanted to say that I have truly loved browsing your blog posts. In any case I will be subscribing in your rss feed and I hope you write again very soon!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

