RSS Feed

Bathroom Update and a Quick Makeover

Well it has been a trying week…nobody told me quite how stressful DIY could be! Not only is there the whopping cost, but you also have to try and live around the mess, have various workmen trooping in and out of your house and, in our case, suffer water pouring through the celling after discovering some dodgy pipework!

But, the end is in sight. The bath, shower, toilet and basin are in and working, we have about half of the tiling done and the new floor tiles are being ordered on payday…watch this space!

In the meantime we have tried to carry on as normal and today I wanted to share a really quick makeover I did on an item for my dining room that needed sprucing up.

We bought this wooden wine rack about 5 years ago at Ikea and had it in our old flat. Since painting our dining room, I have been a bit more particular about what items can go in there and quite frankly this plain looking thing didn’t quite cut it!

So out came the white paint again! I gave this a good layer of undercoat and then a couple of layer of plain white paint.

Much cleaner and fresher looking and just crying out to be filled with some lovely wine…

That’s better!

It now sits in a corner of my dining room, underneath the aprons and currently boasts a rather lovely looking Barolo which I am saving for something special.

I love these quick makeovers that you can do over a few evenings after work and you get yourself a new piece of furniture for practically nothing!

About hannahhotcakes

My name is Hannah. I live near Bath in a lovely village in the Cotswolds with my husband Ian, the love of my life for the past 10 years, in our dream cottage. I have landed my dream job as a primary school teacher and I can’t think of anything else I would rather be doing. I am a self-confessed foodie and I love to cook, bake, and eat out as much as possible. Here are some things I love: My friends and family, travelling, fresh flowers, good books, having breakfast on my balcony, horror films, Christmas, tea, Las Vegas, lie-ins, red wine, Liverpool FC, music, sausage dogs, Spain, rare steak, fashion, cheese, American TV series and camping. And here are my pet hates: People dressed as animals, whistling, being rushed, being made to wait, girls who act stupid to impress a man, spiders, sunburn and rocket (it comes with EVERYTHING!)

2 responses »

  1. Yay, you are back! I miss it when you don’t write everyday…love reading about your life in England xxx

    Reply

Leave a Reply

