RSS Feed

Recipe – Cauliflower Curry with Homemade Flatbreads

I’m feeling rather autumnal today. I’m not sure if it’s that back-to-school feeling that has seen me buying a mountain of new stationary (little bit in love with new pens and notebooks!) or yet another day of rain that just makes me want to crawl back into bed with my Kindle for company!

This weather has made me start yearning for some comfort food; stews, slow-cooked joints of meat and hot puddings. Case in point, this lovely rhubarb and blackberry crumble I made last night…warm, fruity and comforting.

I also love that the variety of blackberries I used were called ‘Loch Ness’!

However, I refuse to bid farewell to summer just yet and put my bikinis and maxi dresses away for another year and I am keeping everything crossed for a scorcher this weekend so I can accessorise my bridesmaid dress with sunglasses instead of an umbrella!

Today’s recipe is a bit of a two-in-one; a lovely veggie curry and some flatbreads to go with it, which make a nice alternative to rice and are so cheap and quick to make I will be making them a lot and experimenting with different flavours.

Flatbreads: the below ingredients are enough for 4 flatbreads

Ingredients

125g of plain flour

A pinch of salt

A teaspoon of olive oil

75ml of warm water

How to make it

  • In a large mixing bowl, sift the flour and salt
  • Add the oil and water and worj the contents of the bowl into a rough dough with your hands
  • On a floured work surface, knead the dough for 3-5 minutes until you have a smooth  and elastic dough
  • Cover the dough in a bowl and allow the dough to rest for about 20 minutes
  • Divide the dough into four equal-sized balls
  • Roll them out until the dough is about half a centimetre thick
  • In a non-stick frying pan on a high heat, add a little oil and place a flatbread in the pan
  • Each flatbread will need about a minute or two cooking on each side
  • Once the bread is golden brown and slightly puffed-up, they are done
  • Serve immediately dipped into a tasty curry (recipe below!)

Cauliflower, potato and egg curry: the below ingredients provided four servings

Ingredients

A glug of olive oil

One onion, chopped

A teaspoon of grated ginger

2 garlic cloves, finely chopped

A teaspoon of cumin

A pinch of dried chilli

A teaspoon of curry powder

2 large potatoes or a handful of new potatoes

One cauliflower, cut into florets

One can of chopped tomatoes

One can of coconut milk

A cupful of frozen peas

4 eggs, hardboiled and quartered

How to make it

  • Begin by heating the oil in a large dish on a medium heat
  • Lightly fry the onion for a few minutes until it has started to soften
  • Add the ginger, garlic, cumin, chilli and curry powder and cook for about a minute
  • Add the potatoes and cauliflower florets to the dish and ensure they are coated by the spices
  • Pour in the chopped tomatoes and coconut milk, stir well and leave to simmer for about 20 minutes
  • Add the peas and stir well
  • Place the egg quarters on top of the curry and cook for another few minutes
  • Serve with rice or flatbreads and a sprinkling of fresh coriander
About hannahhotcakes

My name is Hannah. I live near Bath in a lovely village in the Cotswolds with my husband Ian, the love of my life for the past 10 years, in our dream cottage. I have landed my dream job as a primary school teacher and I can’t think of anything else I would rather be doing. I am a self-confessed foodie and I love to cook, bake, and eat out as much as possible. Here are some things I love: My friends and family, travelling, fresh flowers, good books, having breakfast on my balcony, horror films, Christmas, tea, Las Vegas, lie-ins, red wine, Liverpool FC, music, sausage dogs, Spain, rare steak, fashion, cheese, American TV series and camping. And here are my pet hates: People dressed as animals, whistling, being rushed, being made to wait, girls who act stupid to impress a man, spiders, sunburn and rocket (it comes with EVERYTHING!)

One response »

  1. Pingback: Sunday Catch-up #35 | hannahhotcakes

Leave a Reply

