RSS Feed

Bank Holiday Fun

Even though I have had this month off work and the days have slowly rolled into one, I have been looking forward to the Bank Holiday weekend because it meant 3 full days off with Ian and a long weekend eating and drinking with family and friends.

I knew it was going to be an awesome weekend when this book arrived just as we were packing up the car…

OK, I know a cookery book is the last thing I need but I have had my eye on this one for a while and as I am slowly getting addicted to the Great British Bake Off programme I jumped at the chance to get this book when I saw it for a fiver online!

Some people listen to the radio in the car, I read cookery books!

In true Bank Holiday style, we soon hit a monsoon and dark clouds but it soon brightened up when we got to my parents and my Dad welcomed us in his usual way…with endless plates of food!

I had to share a picture of these gorgeous handpicked chanterelle mushrooms.

Worth a small fortune, but free to those clever people who know the right place to look for them on Exmoor!  I managed to pilfer a few bags of them to bring home and cannot wait to share the recipe I end up using them in.

We also enjoyed the most amazing pork…check out the crackling!

Pulled pork in barbecue sauce with homemade salsa, apple sauce, sour cream and fresh crusty bread…possibly the greatest sandwich ever!

Then it was time to hit the town with my bestie and laugh non-stop. A lot of the photographs we took are too inappropriate or embarrassing to be shown on here; all I can say is that I blame the rum!

After realising I am not as rock and roll as I used to be, and waking up with the hangover from hell, we headed off to church to see another of my best friend’s baby wet his head and get christened. I didn’t get any pictures of him looking gorgeous in his gown but I did record the amazing cakes we had afterwards…perfect hangover cure!

We finished the weekend with fireworks then home for a Sons of Anarchy marathon. I know I am a bit late to the game with this series but I’m slowly getting obsessed!

I’m off to the hairdressers now for my ‘back to school’ haircut then spending the week lesson planning and getting ready for our friends’ wedding this weekend. The bridesmaid diet has paid off (so sick of bloody rice cakes!) and I can get the zip of my dress up with ease!

Finally, I just wanted to share with you this slightly disturbing message I came downstairs to this morning…please tell me other couples write notes to each other on bananas?!?!

About hannahhotcakes

My name is Hannah. I live near Bath in a lovely village in the Cotswolds with my husband Ian, the love of my life for the past 10 years, in our dream cottage. I have landed my dream job as a primary school teacher and I can’t think of anything else I would rather be doing. I am a self-confessed foodie and I love to cook, bake, and eat out as much as possible. Here are some things I love: My friends and family, travelling, fresh flowers, good books, having breakfast on my balcony, horror films, Christmas, tea, Las Vegas, lie-ins, red wine, Liverpool FC, music, sausage dogs, Spain, rare steak, fashion, cheese, American TV series and camping. And here are my pet hates: People dressed as animals, whistling, being rushed, being made to wait, girls who act stupid to impress a man, spiders, sunburn and rocket (it comes with EVERYTHING!)

Leave a Reply

