RSS Feed

Recipe – Artichoke, Mushroom and Prosciutto Pasta

I spent yesterday in my new classroom, putting up displays, planning and getting myself set up and ready for the new school year. So, I feel in a very different frame of mind today as I slowly shift from holiday-mode back into work-mode.

I have loved these past 6 weeks. It was the first summer (can we call it a summer with such little sun and so much bloody rain?!) in our new home where I could just relax, cook, bake, write, unpack and decorate.

Although, I think one of the reasons I have loved it so much is that I knew it was only temporary and that September would come soon enough. In a weird but comforting way I really can’t wait to go back to school, start getting to know my new class and do the job I love.

You have probably figured out by now that I am quite a homebody and love being at home, making it look good, filling it with people I love and, lately, welcoming Ian back from work with my latest kitchen creation!

Today’s pasta dish was a new invention but the combination works so well that I just had to share it! Three of my favourite ingredients brought together with lots of fresh parsley, wine and Parmesan…Bellissimo!

I have used prosciutto but Parma ham, Serrano ham or chorizo would also work. I found that, for perfect little mouthfuls, it worked well to cut the strip of ham in half widthways then roll it into small balls (hehe I just sniggered writing that!)

The below ingredients are enough for supper for two.

Ingredients

Olive oil

1 onion chopped

One packet of prosciutto or Parma Ham

A handful of chestnut mushrooms, chopped

Half a jar of artichoke quarters (they usually come in a lovely herby olive oil which you can use to fry the vegetables in)

Enough pasta for two people; I recommend spaghetti or linguine

About 75ml of white wine

Salt and pepper

A handful of fresh parsley, chopped

Parmesan cheese, grated

How to make it

  • Begin by heating a glug of oil in a large pan (either olive oil or the oil from the artichoke jar) and fry the onions for a few minutes on a medium heat until they have begun to soften
  • Add the ham, mushrooms and artichokes and lightly fry for about 10 minutes until the mushrooms have cooked and the ham has started to crisp up
  • In the meantime, cook the pasta in your usual way
  • Add the white wine to the vegetables and season with salt and pepper
  • Allow the wine to cook down slightly (this should take a few minutes) then sprinkle the chopped parsley through the vegetables
  • Add your pasta to the pan and ensure everything is well combined
  • Serve with a mound of freshly grated Parmesan on top!

I hope you have an awesome Bank Holiday weekend…mine will include pubs, pulled pork, fireworks, good friends, walks on the beach, family and the christening of a very special little man and, as long as it doesn’t rain, there is nowhere else I would rather be!

About hannahhotcakes

My name is Hannah. I live near Bath in a lovely village in the Cotswolds with my husband Ian, the love of my life for the past 10 years, in our dream cottage. I have landed my dream job as a primary school teacher and I can’t think of anything else I would rather be doing. I am a self-confessed foodie and I love to cook, bake, and eat out as much as possible. Here are some things I love: My friends and family, travelling, fresh flowers, good books, having breakfast on my balcony, horror films, Christmas, tea, Las Vegas, lie-ins, red wine, Liverpool FC, music, sausage dogs, Spain, rare steak, fashion, cheese, American TV series and camping. And here are my pet hates: People dressed as animals, whistling, being rushed, being made to wait, girls who act stupid to impress a man, spiders, sunburn and rocket (it comes with EVERYTHING!)

Leave a Reply

