RSS Feed

Recipe – Chewy Blueberry and Oat Cookies

I had a lovely day with my best friend yesterday and an awesome catch up.

I headed into Bath, parking outside our old flat which felt a little odd and quite nostalgic. We used to rent a little apartment in the city centre on a really gorgeous street and were about 5 minutes away from lots of good bars and restaurants. Every now and again I get a pang for how easy it was to just head out for dinner when we got home from work and our fridge was empty, but seeing our new home slowly come together makes me know we made the right decision and the time was right for us to move on.

I couldn’t resist a quick photo of my favourite view of Bath, always packed with tourists but I love this bridge I used to walk over every evening on my way home from work.

After a quick tattoo consultation (for my friend, not me…4 hour sitting – good luck with that Luey!) we didn’t opt for our usual high-calorie lunch (less than 2 weeks to fit into my lovely bridesmaid dress!) but the more healthy option of sushi…

…and just a teeny tiny bit of cake!

We couldn’t resist a spot of shopping after that where we set each other the challenge of picking the most ridiculous pair of shorts for the other person to try on…yeah, we don’t get out much! I won with a rather disturbing pair of American-flag printed ripped denim shorts although my bright pink hotpants didn’t look much better! Haha

Spending an afternoon eating and laughing with my best friend was exactly what I needed and reminded me that when school starts again and slowly takes over my life, I need to make sure I make time for my friends! To that end, we are picking up a new 8-seater dinner table this weekend which I hope will see lots of long lunches, dinner parties and Christmas dinners all washed down with lots of good wine! Pictures to come as soon as we have put it together and I have done all my ‘pottering’ with different tablecloths, runners and candles!

Today’s recipe was a lesson in self-torture…baking whilst on a diet is tough, although I did have to have a little taste, solely for ‘quality control’ of course!

These cookies are quick and easy to make and you can kid yourself that the blueberries count towards one of your five-a-day! If you don’t have fresh blueberries then raisins would work just as well.

Ingredients

200g of plain flour

150g of porridge oats

Half a teaspoon of baking powder

1 teaspoon of cinnamon or all-spice (optional)

125g of butter or margarine

150g of soft brown sugar (use this instead of caster sugar to add a toffee-like quality)

1 teaspoon of vanilla extract

1 egg

1 small punnet of fresh blueberries

How to make it

  • Preheat your oven to 180°C, Gas Mark 4 and line two baking sheets with baking parchment
  • In a mixing bowl, stir together the flour, oats, baking powder and cinnamon
  • In another bowl, cream together the butter and the sugar (note: this does not mean ‘add cream to the butter and sugar’ as someone did on Celebrity Masterchef last week!)
  • Once it is light and fluffy, add the vanilla extract and the egg
  • Stir through the blueberries, trying not to break them up too much
  • Add the dry mixture a few spoonfuls at a time until combined
  • Spoon onto the baking tray in tablespoon-sized drops
  • Pop into the oven for about 12-15 minutes or until golden
  • Leave to cool then enjoy!
About hannahhotcakes

My name is Hannah. I live near Bath in a lovely village in the Cotswolds with my husband Ian, the love of my life for the past 10 years, in our dream cottage. I have landed my dream job as a primary school teacher and I can’t think of anything else I would rather be doing. I am a self-confessed foodie and I love to cook, bake, and eat out as much as possible. Here are some things I love: My friends and family, travelling, fresh flowers, good books, having breakfast on my balcony, horror films, Christmas, tea, Las Vegas, lie-ins, red wine, Liverpool FC, music, sausage dogs, Spain, rare steak, fashion, cheese, American TV series and camping. And here are my pet hates: People dressed as animals, whistling, being rushed, being made to wait, girls who act stupid to impress a man, spiders, sunburn and rocket (it comes with EVERYTHING!)

Leave a Reply

