RSS Feed

Corners of My Home – Dining Room shelves

There was a photography project started on Flickr called ‘Corners of My Home’ which is all about sharing little spots you love in your house. It isn’t about the whole room but just a little nook you have created and one which you would like to remember.

Being quite a nosy person (!), I love looking around other people’s homes. In fact, one of my favourite parts of Come Dine With Me is when the other guests have a snoop around their host’s house (and usually rip it to shreds!) I think that seeing where someone lives is very revealing and can often say a lot about them. This was one of my favourite parts about house-hunting and probably the only legitimate time that you can just have a wander around a stranger’s living space!

Having a lot of free time on my hands at the moment, my house has never looked so clean and tidy (after a particularly vigorous bleaching session yesterday, Ian came home and remarked how the house smelt like a swimming pool!)…although if you were to pop over in about four weeks when I am back at work and shattered it will look quite different!

This is why just showing a little snippet of a room is a perfect compromise for me; I can appreciate the bits I have worked hard on but nobody has to know about the huge pile of washing in the corner!

I have spent a large chunk of this summer holiday redecorating our dining room and whilst I am still not quite ready for the big reveal there are parts of it which I already love.

My Dad and I have spent the last few days turning a rather plain corner of the room into something that is both useful and nice to look at.

Here is the ‘before’ shot of the corner. To be honest, it is a bit of an awkwardly placed window. It actually backs onto my next door neighbour’s garden, which is why the glass is frosted. Whilst it does bring a nice amount of light into the room, it doesn’t have any sort of view to speak of so I wanted to jazz it up.

It did have a big plastic sill which I ripped off whilst painting as it looked cheap and ugly…only to find an equally ugly chunk of plastic underneath!

As much as I appreciate the benefits of double glazing I think all that white plastic looks horrible so one by one I am replacing the PVC windowsills in our house with nice wooden ones (with my Dad’s help of course!). Here are the ones in the lounge, which people always comment on:

My Dad sawed off the edges of the remaining plastic sill, made the wooden supports and cut and sanded three shelves for me *SuperDad*

(I was going to photograph and do a ‘How-To’ guide for this but I went shopping with my Mum instead!)

My job was the easy bit…painting it white.

I am starting to fall in love with my pots of paint in various shades of white. I think it is clean, fresh and bright and instantly makes a tired room look alive again. Don’t get me wrong, I love having lots of colour throughout our house but white is such a good background colour for skirting boards, coving and ceilings that it makes the colours you do choose look even better.

I decided to paint the supporting wooden brackets (is that the right word?!) the same shade of duck egg as the walls, and the three shelves white.

Loving the duck egg so much I painted my toes to match too!

Although it doesn’t look quite so hot when paired with the bandage for my bad foot!

Ta-Da…finished!

And now comes the fun part…the pottering! This involves me grabbing a variety of different items (books, candles, jugs, photographs, you name it!) to see what looks good then spending the next few days fine-tuning until I am happy with it:

Whatever ends up on here, I love this new corner and I can see myself constantly playing around with it throughout the year (already getting excited about the Christmas look!)

About hannahhotcakes

My name is Hannah. I live near Bath in a lovely village in the Cotswolds with my husband Ian, the love of my life for the past 10 years, in our dream cottage. I have landed my dream job as a primary school teacher and I can’t think of anything else I would rather be doing. I am a self-confessed foodie and I love to cook, bake, and eat out as much as possible. Here are some things I love: My friends and family, travelling, fresh flowers, good books, having breakfast on my balcony, horror films, Christmas, tea, Las Vegas, lie-ins, red wine, Liverpool FC, music, sausage dogs, Spain, rare steak, fashion, cheese, American TV series and camping. And here are my pet hates: People dressed as animals, whistling, being rushed, being made to wait, girls who act stupid to impress a man, spiders, sunburn and rocket (it comes with EVERYTHING!)

One response »

  1. Good post, i for sure love the website, keep on it.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

