RSS Feed

Fashion: My Summer Staple

Today, I wanted to share an item of clothing that has fast become one of my summer staples…patterned trousers.

All over the Spring/ Summer catwalks this year and in my opinion the perfect solution for this dreadful weather we have had – they are loose and light so keep you cool in the sun, but they are still trousers so good for when it turns a bit chillier.

I have liked these trousers for ages, even more so after seeing Cherry Healey wear various pairs during her recent ‘How to Get a Life’ series, but as with any new trend it is all about finding the right cut for your body shape.

These patterned trousers have moved on from the big ‘n’ baggy style favoured at festivals and I think the perfect pair are not too tight, not too loose and should finish on the ankle. Get the cut right for your figure and these trousers are very flattering. Many styles also come with an elasticated waist which is perfect when you have pigged out at a BBQ! Asos currently have a great range of patterned trousers on their website.

After being on the hunt for a little while, I found and bought three pairs in one week, all in the sale!

I went for three different patterns so it didn’t feel like I was wearing the same thing every day, just in different colours:

A snakeskin pair (similar to the ones in Reiss which have appeared in lots of fashion magazines)

A bright, silky tropical print pair

And a simple blue patterned pair

Now, there is a fine line between ‘summer chic’ and looking like you have left the house wearing your pyjamas so I think you need to be careful what you pair with these trousers. I know some people are all about clashing colours and patterns but I prefer to let the trousers be more of a statement piece and go for a neutral top.

For me, this means I don’t have to go through that continual questioning of whether two things go well together and, to keep it really simple, I usually go for a black or white top, sometimes with a denim shirt thrown over the top.

You can get away with these at the office, by pairing the trousers with a crisp white shirt and ballet pumps, or wear them on a night out with a strappy top and wedges…fun, playful and very stylish.

About hannahhotcakes

My name is Hannah. I live near Bath in a lovely village in the Cotswolds with my husband Ian, the love of my life for the past 10 years, in our dream cottage. I have landed my dream job as a primary school teacher and I can’t think of anything else I would rather be doing. I am a self-confessed foodie and I love to cook, bake, and eat out as much as possible. Here are some things I love: My friends and family, travelling, fresh flowers, good books, having breakfast on my balcony, horror films, Christmas, tea, Las Vegas, lie-ins, red wine, Liverpool FC, music, sausage dogs, Spain, rare steak, fashion, cheese, American TV series and camping. And here are my pet hates: People dressed as animals, whistling, being rushed, being made to wait, girls who act stupid to impress a man, spiders, sunburn and rocket (it comes with EVERYTHING!)

One response »

  1. Pingback: Latest Purchases #27 – Forever 21 Haul | hannahhotcakes

Leave a Reply

