RSS Feed

Let There Be Light

The sun is shining here in the West Country today and I am itching to get outside in the garden again but unfortunately I am glued to the sofa for the second day running. Being one of the clumsiest people I know, I managed to catch my little toe in the bannister along our hallway yesterday and not only can I not walk but I am also sporting a nice big bruise on my foot. Suffice to say, I am slightly bored of doing nothing now so am hobbling around a bit today trying to get some jobs done, but it isn’t my best look!

Before I was tackled to the floor by the bannister, I have spent the last few days pottering. There isn’t really a better word to use for unpacking the boxes that have been sat in our spare room since March (!) but it is good to finally feel properly moved in and organised, and to not have Monica-style cupboards that are fit to bursting with all types of crap!

My new lights for the living room and dining room arrived and with the help of Ian’s Dad these are now up and looking good!

It is hard to get a good picture of the light in the living room but these little things are hummingbirds and the light is quite a statement piece in the room without being too big.

My favourite light is this shabby chic chandelier that is now hanging above the dining table:

I also got to hang out with this little guy for the past few days…he even let me dress him up!

Finally, as I have been sat on the sofa for the past day and a bit and, dare I say it, feel like I need a couple of hours break from the Olympics, I have been doing lots of reading. I have just finished this book, The Help by Kathryn Stockett.

I purposely wanted to read the book before I saw the film as I always like knowing a bit more background to the story before watching it on the big screen and I find it interesting to see how a director chooses to portray the story and which bits to focus on and which to leave out.

The book is wonderful and I highly recommend it. Set in Jackson, Mississippi in the 1960s, each chapter is from the point of view of different characters detailing the fascinating and varied relationships white women had with their black maids. It was both funny and heart-breaking in places and my favourite passage was one picked out by the author in her notes at the back of the book:

For women to realise, we are just two people. Not that much separates us.

There isn’t a Disney-style happy ending to the story but it does finish on a note of hopefulness. I am dying to watch the film version now and put faces to the characters I have read about.

If you are off on holiday and are still looking for something decent to read around the pool then grab this book – you won’t be disappointed.

Right, I’m hobbling off for some lunch now! x

About hannahhotcakes

My name is Hannah. I live near Bath in a lovely village in the Cotswolds with my husband Ian, the love of my life for the past 10 years, in our dream cottage. I have landed my dream job as a primary school teacher and I can’t think of anything else I would rather be doing. I am a self-confessed foodie and I love to cook, bake, and eat out as much as possible. Here are some things I love: My friends and family, travelling, fresh flowers, good books, having breakfast on my balcony, horror films, Christmas, tea, Las Vegas, lie-ins, red wine, Liverpool FC, music, sausage dogs, Spain, rare steak, fashion, cheese, American TV series and camping. And here are my pet hates: People dressed as animals, whistling, being rushed, being made to wait, girls who act stupid to impress a man, spiders, sunburn and rocket (it comes with EVERYTHING!)

2 responses »

  1. Hope you get better soon and those lights are absolutely beautiful! You have wonderful taste!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

