RSS Feed

Beautiful Dorset

It was my 27th birthday yesterday and to celebrate Ian and I had a four day break in beautiful Dorset.

We found a lovely little campsite in Osmington Mills, near Weymouth, and put our tent up making sure we had the best view possible!

Our ‘bedroom’ for the last few days…cosy!

We were so lucky with the weather all weekend but still had that feeling that the sun may be gone at any given moment so as soon as the tent was up we were straight off to the nearby beach.

The sea was so clear and blue that we couldn’t resist having a dip. I won’t say it was freezing but the water was definitely ‘refreshing’!

(I look a little bit naked in this picture but I promise I wasn’t!)

The coastline around here was absolutely stunning and we had lots of walks along it.

One reason that we chose to camp here was a pub that Ian wanted to visit. Dorset is home to the lovely Hall and Woodhouse network of pubs, all of which stock Badger Brewery ales. Ian made it his personal mission to try every single one!

Our new favourite pub is The Smuggler’s Inn, a short walk from our campsite and absolutely gorgeous!

It is a 13th Century building, with a really colourful history. There is a little stream running through the gardens so it is lovely to sit outside but when it got a bit colder in the evenings it was warm and cosy inside too.

We spent a lot of time here over the weekend!

The food was pretty good too:

We even stopped off at the brewery on the way home for a nosy and to stock up on our favourite ales.

One of my favourite things was this view when we stepped outside the tent each morning…

And although it may not have been fine dining, I loved our breakfasts and meals cooked outside in the little gas fire!

The only home comfort I really missed was a proper cup of tea so I refuelled as much as I could:

For my birthday, Ian treated me to a lovely Cath Kidston straw bag, my perfect summer accessory!

And a meal at The Wild Garlic (review to come later this week!) which was stunning.

Having missed the Olympic Opening Ceremony and all the hype that came with it, we felt a bit out of the loop but Weymouth was definitely celebrating it with parties on the beach and flags everywhere.

Ian and I climbed a hill behing our campsite one day and had a perfect view of the Olympic sailing that was going on in the bay below. Neither of us really knew what was going on but we had a few beers to celebrate anyway!

After visiting with my class a few weeks ago, I really wanted to take Ian to Durdle Door and Lulworth Cove to show him how beautiful they were. It was another lovely sunny day so they both looked gorgeous.

Despite having a mound of washing to do today and lots to unpack (I haven’t quite mastered how to pack light for camping!), it was the perfect birthday weekend and I loved discovering a new part of Dorset…I just hope the sun comes back so we can go back and visit soon!

PS Thank you for all my lovely birthday messages and cards! xxx

About hannahhotcakes

My name is Hannah. I live near Bath in a lovely village in the Cotswolds with my husband Ian, the love of my life for the past 10 years, in our dream cottage. I have landed my dream job as a primary school teacher and I can’t think of anything else I would rather be doing. I am a self-confessed foodie and I love to cook, bake, and eat out as much as possible. Here are some things I love: My friends and family, travelling, fresh flowers, good books, having breakfast on my balcony, horror films, Christmas, tea, Las Vegas, lie-ins, red wine, Liverpool FC, music, sausage dogs, Spain, rare steak, fashion, cheese, American TV series and camping. And here are my pet hates: People dressed as animals, whistling, being rushed, being made to wait, girls who act stupid to impress a man, spiders, sunburn and rocket (it comes with EVERYTHING!)

Leave a Reply

