RSS Feed

Recipe – Marmalade, Honey and Orange Glazed Ham

This week has flown by for me and I can’t quite believe it is Friday already. Ian left earlier today for his stag do which means I have a whole weekend to myself to catch up with my girlfriends, watch a lot of Brothers and Sisters and have the whole bed to myself!

I also have some decorating plans so I will show some before and after pictures if I managed to get it all done in time for Ian’s return.

Today’s recipe is one I have made a few times for a summery twist on a Sunday roast. It is still nice to make a bit of an occasion of Sunday lunch, even if it is just the two of us, but I don’t feel like cooking or eating a full roast dinner with all the trimmings when it is warm outside.

This ham recipe still has a lovely and well-flavoured piece of meat but instead of roasting lots of vegetables and making gravy and Yorkshire puddings, you can simply serve this with a nice potato salad and some fresh vegetables.

Or as a posh ham, egg and chips

It is also fabulous for sandwiches the next day!

Ingredients

A good sized gammon joint, smoked or unsmoked

2 tablespoons of soft brown sugar

Some fresh orange juice

3 tablespoons of honey

3 tablespoons of marmalade (I used my Aunty Jill’s homemade Seville Orange Marmalade)

2 tablespoons of wholegrain mustard

How to make it

  • Begin by preheating your oven to 180°C, Gas Mark 4
  • Score the gammon in a diamond pattern and place in an ovenproof dish
  • Mix together the sugar, orange juice, honey, marmalade and mustard to make the glaze
  • Spoon the glaze over the gammon joint
  • Pop the gammon joint in the oven to roast, taking it out to baste it frequently
  • It should take about 45 minutes to an hour for the gammon to cook through and turn a lovely golden brown
  • Allow to cool then slice and serve
About hannahhotcakes

My name is Hannah. I live near Bath in a lovely village in the Cotswolds with my husband Ian, the love of my life for the past 10 years, in our dream cottage. I have landed my dream job as a primary school teacher and I can’t think of anything else I would rather be doing. I am a self-confessed foodie and I love to cook, bake, and eat out as much as possible. Here are some things I love: My friends and family, travelling, fresh flowers, good books, having breakfast on my balcony, horror films, Christmas, tea, Las Vegas, lie-ins, red wine, Liverpool FC, music, sausage dogs, Spain, rare steak, fashion, cheese, American TV series and camping. And here are my pet hates: People dressed as animals, whistling, being rushed, being made to wait, girls who act stupid to impress a man, spiders, sunburn and rocket (it comes with EVERYTHING!)

Leave a Reply

