RSS Feed

Recipe – Elderflower Cordial

I love elderflower cordial and I seem to spend a lot of money on buying it from the supermarket.

Seeing as homemade versions of these things nearly always taste better, I was looking forward to making my own this year.

And after seeing how easy it was and how lovely the results were from only 4 ingredients, I’m not sure why I haven’t done it sooner!

I was very happy to discover lots of elderflower bushes bordering our school field so I sent my kids out to fill some carrier bags for me!

I feel I should warn you that the freshly picked elderflower heads have a very pungent smell!

You can do so much with this cordial once it is ready. On a hot day, it is the ultimate thrist quencher mixed with cold sparkling water or lemonade and served with a slice of lemon and a sprig of mint.

You can also make it a bit more adult by adding it to a white wine spritzer, gin, vodka or my personal favourite which is in some champagne or prosecco.

Another idea I have seen is to freeze the cordial in ice cube trays so you can just pop them into sparkling water when you want them and it ensures the drink will be ice cold.

Elderflower cordial does not just have to be limited to drinks either. You can use it to flavour ice cream and sorbet, drizzle it over strawberries, make a jelly or a jam from it or even add a glug into your next crumble…endless possibilities!

Ingredients

About 30 elderflower heads

4 lemons, juice and zest

1kg of caster sugar

1 litre of water

How to make it

  • Shake the flower heads to get rid of any lingering bugs
  • Strip the little white flowers from the stems and put in a large saucepan
  • Add the juice and zest of the lemons into the pan
  • Stir it up so the lemon mixes throughout the flower heads
  • In a separate pan, add the sugar and water and cook on a high heat, stirring constantly until the sugar has dissolved and the water goes clear
  • Allow it to boil for a few minutes
  • Pour the syrup over the elderflowers and lemons and stir
  • Pop a lid on the pan and allow to ‘brew’ for about 3 days
  • After 3 days, pass the liquid through a fine sieve and bottle it
  • I got this much from the amount above
  • Enjoy on a hot summer’s day…if we ever get one!
About hannahhotcakes

My name is Hannah. I live near Bath in a lovely village in the Cotswolds with my husband Ian, the love of my life for the past 10 years, in our dream cottage. I have landed my dream job as a primary school teacher and I can’t think of anything else I would rather be doing. I am a self-confessed foodie and I love to cook, bake, and eat out as much as possible. Here are some things I love: My friends and family, travelling, fresh flowers, good books, having breakfast on my balcony, horror films, Christmas, tea, Las Vegas, lie-ins, red wine, Liverpool FC, music, sausage dogs, Spain, rare steak, fashion, cheese, American TV series and camping. And here are my pet hates: People dressed as animals, whistling, being rushed, being made to wait, girls who act stupid to impress a man, spiders, sunburn and rocket (it comes with EVERYTHING!)

4 responses »

  1. aroundtheworldin80bakes

    perfect post! I was just pondering elderflower cordial whilst walking to work past what I hope is an elderflower bush!

    Reply
  2. Yummy! You’ve just inspired me to hunt down some elderflower here in Devon 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

