RSS Feed

Euro 2012 Cooking Challenge – Russia, Czech Republic and Poland

Today’s post is a triple whammy of recipes!

The three dishes actually complimented each other really well and I would serve them together again.

I will start with the main dish first, a lovely mushroom stroganoff.

Ingredients

A good glug of olive oil

1 onion, chopped

2 garlic cloves, finely chopped

1 tablespoon of paprika

400g of mixed mushrooms (I used chestnut and whole button mushrooms)

A tablespoon of Worcestershire sauce

150ml of beef stock

4-5 tablespoons of sour cream

A handful of fresh parsley, chopped

Salt and pepper to season

How to make it

  • Heat the oil in a large pan and cook the onion on a low to medium heat for about 5 minutes until softened
  • Add the garlic and paprika and cook for a minute or so, until the onions take on that lovely golden colour from the paprika
  • Now add the mushrooms and cook for another 5 minutes, stirring occasionally
  • Pour in the Worcestershire sauce and stock and continue to cook on a low heat for 5 to 10 minutes or until the sauce has thickened slightly
  • Remove the pan from the heat and stir through the fresh parsley and sour cream
  • Serve straightaway

Next, is the recipe for Bramboracky, or Czech Savoury Potato Pancakes. These rosti-like pancakes were absolutely delicious and would be great with so many dishes. There is quite a bit of garlic in here (how I like it!) so feel free to reduce it to 1 clove if you think you will find it too overpowering.

Ingredients

4 large potatoes, or 6 smallish ones

3 garlic cloves, crushed

Salt and pepper

A pinch of dried marjoram

2 eggs

3-4 tablespoons of milk

3 tablespoons of flour

Olive oil

How to make it

  • Begin by peeling and grating the potatoes
  • Drain as much of the water from the potatoes as you can by wrapping the grated potato pieces in a clean tea towel and squeezing it tight
  • In a mixing bowl, add the potatoes, garlic, salt and pepper, marjoram, eggs, milk and flour and mix well until combined into a rough batter
  • Heat some oil in a large pan and add a spoonful of the potato batter, flattening it slightly
  • Fry the pancake for a few minutes on each side until they are golden brown
  • I placed my cooked pancakes on a baking tray and kept them on a low heat in the oven whilst I was cooking the rest of the mixture
  • Serve whilst hot

This final dish, Cauliflower Polonaise, or quite simply Polish Cauliflower, was an interesting one. I have to say that I don’t think I quite ‘got it’. It was a pleasant enough side dish but I wouldn’t start raving about the flavour combinations. I actually had to reread the recipe to see if I had left a key ingredient out! Anyway, it is very easy to make so try it yourself and let me know what you think!

Ingredients

2 eggs

1 cauliflower

2 tablespoons of butter

A handful of fresh parsley, chopped

3 tablespoons of breadcrumbs

Salt and pepper

How to make it

  • Preheat your oven to 180°C, Gas Mark 4
  • Hard boil your eggs and allow to cool
  • Once cooled, chop the eggs into small pieces and set to one side
  • Cut your cauliflower into bite-sized florets and boil on a medium heat for about 8 minutes
  • Drain the cauliflower and place the florets in an oven proof dish
  • Melt the butter in a frying pan and add the fresh parsley
  • Add the breadcrumbs and cook until they have absorbed the butter and start to crisp up slightly
  • Tip the breadcrumbs over the cauliflower and sprinkle the chopped eggs over the top
  • Season well with salt and pepper and bake for 10 – 15 minutes

And here are the finished dishes…

About hannahhotcakes

My name is Hannah. I live near Bath in a lovely village in the Cotswolds with my husband Ian, the love of my life for the past 10 years, in our dream cottage. I have landed my dream job as a primary school teacher and I can’t think of anything else I would rather be doing. I am a self-confessed foodie and I love to cook, bake, and eat out as much as possible. Here are some things I love: My friends and family, travelling, fresh flowers, good books, having breakfast on my balcony, horror films, Christmas, tea, Las Vegas, lie-ins, red wine, Liverpool FC, music, sausage dogs, Spain, rare steak, fashion, cheese, American TV series and camping. And here are my pet hates: People dressed as animals, whistling, being rushed, being made to wait, girls who act stupid to impress a man, spiders, sunburn and rocket (it comes with EVERYTHING!)

Leave a Reply

