RSS Feed

Euro 2012 Cooking Challenge – Portugal

Hello to the start of a new week!

We spent the weekend with our best friends, doing what we love…eating and drinking!

We took a road trip to visit a brewery, which was awesome.

We had a tour of Bellinger’s Brewery in Oxfordshire with lots of tasters!

The beers tasted excellent and it was just lovely to see a small family business doing something they love.

We were tasting the beers for a wedding but Ian couldn’t help coming away with a few samples!

After a packed Saturday, we enjoyed a chilled out Sunday.

I started making my own elderflower cordial using flowers handpicked by my class…recipe coming soon!

We did a bit of DIY and updated our cheap, white plastic light switches for some vintage style ones

Our salad patch has been flourishing with all this rain so I handpicked us some fresh leaves to enjoy for dinner

I picked some more roses from the garden

If anyone knows what variety these are then do let me know!

And I ticked another country off my Euro 2012 list by making these delicious Portuguese custard tarts.

They are a bit fiddly, which is why I saved them for a lazy Sunday afternoon, but well worth it.

I couldn’t find a recipe I liked so the following is a mixture of several ones I found!

The custard has quite a bit of sugar in it so I decided to infuse a cinnamon stick and some orange peel to add some extra flavour and offset some of the sweetness.

Ingredients

2 egg yolks

1 whole egg

115g of caster sugar

2 tablespoons of cornflour

400ml of whole milk (you can use half milk and half cream but I thought that sounded too sickly for me!)

1-2 cinnamon sticks

4-5 pieces of orange peel

2 teaspoons of vanilla extract

1 sheet of puff pastry

How to make it

  • Begin by making the custard filling
  • In a saucepan combine the eggs, caster sugar and cornflour
  • On a low heat, start adding the milk, stirring constantly until combined
  • Put the cinnamon stick and orange in the pan and continue stirring until the mixture starts to thicken
  • When the contents of the pan take on a custard-like consistency, remove from the heat, take out the cinnamon and orange peel, add the vanilla extract and allow to cool in a mixing bowl
  • Pop a piece of cling film over the custard to prevent a skin forming
  • Grease the insides of a muffin tray and preheat the oven to 200°C, Gas Mark 5
  • Take the sheet of puff pastry, cut it in half and lay one half on top of the other
  • Roll the pastry up like a swiss roll
  • Cut into 12 equal slices
  • Lay each piece of pastry on a floured surface and roll it out until it is about 12cm across
  • Press the pastry into the muffin tray – the edges will overlap each other slightly, but this just adds to the rustic look of the tarts
  • Spoon in the cooled custard and then pop them in the oven for about 25 minutes or until the tarts are golden brown
  • Allow to cool and then enjoy with a cup of tea
About hannahhotcakes

My name is Hannah. I live near Bath in a lovely village in the Cotswolds with my husband Ian, the love of my life for the past 10 years, in our dream cottage. I have landed my dream job as a primary school teacher and I can’t think of anything else I would rather be doing. I am a self-confessed foodie and I love to cook, bake, and eat out as much as possible. Here are some things I love: My friends and family, travelling, fresh flowers, good books, having breakfast on my balcony, horror films, Christmas, tea, Las Vegas, lie-ins, red wine, Liverpool FC, music, sausage dogs, Spain, rare steak, fashion, cheese, American TV series and camping. And here are my pet hates: People dressed as animals, whistling, being rushed, being made to wait, girls who act stupid to impress a man, spiders, sunburn and rocket (it comes with EVERYTHING!)

Leave a Reply

