RSS Feed

Euro 2012 Cooking Challenge – Republic of Ireland and Sweden

After visiting three different supermarkets, I finally found some fresh dill which meant I could attempt my Swedish meatballs recipe…Ikea eat your heart out!

These lovely little pork balls, in a creamy sauce, are very easy to make and absolutely delicious.

I decided to kill two birds with one stone and serve this with a classic Irish side dish, Colcannon. This tasty twist on mashed potatoes was a lovely accompaniment to the meatballs.

Swedish Meatballs (makes about 18)

Ingredients

1 onion or a handful of spring onions, finely chopped

300g of pork mince

1 egg

Fresh dill

Salt and pepper

Olive oil

About 250ml of good quality beef stock

3-4 tablespoons of sour cream

How to make it

  • In a mixing bowl, add the onion, pork mince, egg, dill, salt and pepper
  • Get your hands in there and mix well
  • Shape the mixture into small balls
  • In a large frying pan, heat some olive oil and gently fry the meatballs until golden brown all over. I recommend doing this in several batches
  • Put the browned meatballs to one side and in the frying pan add the stock. Scrape the bottom of the pan so all the little cooked crispy bits of meatballs become part of the sauce
  • Reduce the stock by half then add the sour cream and stir well
  • Add the meatballs back to the pan, along with a few more fronds of dill, and warm through
  • Serve with a sprinkling of fresh dill

Colcannon

Ingredients

3-4 potatoes, peeled and chopped into equal sized chunks

A good handful of shredded cabbage or kale leaves

2-3 spring onions, finely sliced

Salt and pepper

Butter

Milk (or cream if you are feeling naughty!)

How to make it

  • Boil your potatoes until soft
  • Whilst the potatoes are cooking, pour boiling water on your cabbage leaves and leave for a few minutes until tender. Blanch the leaves in ice cold water and then set to one side
  • When the potatoes are soft, drain them and then prepare mashed potatoes as you normally would
  • For me, this includes butter, milk, salt and lots of pepper
  • When your mash is ready, mix through the cabbage leaves and most of the slices spring onions
  • Serve with a scattering of spring onion slices and an extra knob of butter
About hannahhotcakes

My name is Hannah. I live near Bath in a lovely village in the Cotswolds with my husband Ian, the love of my life for the past 10 years, in our dream cottage. I have landed my dream job as a primary school teacher and I can’t think of anything else I would rather be doing. I am a self-confessed foodie and I love to cook, bake, and eat out as much as possible. Here are some things I love: My friends and family, travelling, fresh flowers, good books, having breakfast on my balcony, horror films, Christmas, tea, Las Vegas, lie-ins, red wine, Liverpool FC, music, sausage dogs, Spain, rare steak, fashion, cheese, American TV series and camping. And here are my pet hates: People dressed as animals, whistling, being rushed, being made to wait, girls who act stupid to impress a man, spiders, sunburn and rocket (it comes with EVERYTHING!)

Leave a Reply

