RSS Feed

My Euro 2012 Cooking Challenge

It’s finally here…Euro 2012 kicks off later today with Poland Vs Greece and with it comes my very own Euro 2012 Cooking Challenge.

Having read ‘Julie and Julia’ and other blogs where the writer sets themselves some sort of culinary challenge, I wanted to get involved and thought this one would be perfect. I will definitely be trying new dishes and may even find a new favourite cuisine.

So, here are the rules:

  • 16 countries are competing so I must make 16 dishes, one from each country.
  • The dish can be sweet, savoury or a drink
  • I must blog about each dish, whether it turns out to be a success or a failure!

Now I worked out that I have 24 days until the final on July 1st which makes it sound quite achievable but I am also away every weekend between now and then doing various things so I can foresee a bit of panic cooking as we get nearer to the end but we’ll see!

Now, just in case you didn’t know, here are the 16 countries:

1)      England

2)      Republic of Ireland

3)      France

4)      Spain

5)      Portugal

6)      Holland

7)      Germany

8)      Croatia

9)      Czech Republic

10)   Russia

11)   Greece

12)   Poland

13)   Ukraine

14)   Sweden

15)   Denmark (who I have drawn in the sweepstake with my class!)

16)   Italy

I did a bit of Google research last night on the national dish of each country and I have to admit that I am already struggling! I’m fine with the Mediterranean countries and ones that I have visited but I am finding it tricky to find tasty Scandinavian recipes (lots of herring!) and some good ones for the Eastern European countries (lots of cabbage!) so any pieces of advice (or even recipes!) would be gratefully received!

I am off on a hen weekend later today so I will be back early next week tackling the first of my new recipes!

Oh, one more thing…COME ON ENGLAND!

(and Denmark!)

About hannahhotcakes

My name is Hannah. I live near Bath in a lovely village in the Cotswolds with my husband Ian, the love of my life for the past 10 years, in our dream cottage. I have landed my dream job as a primary school teacher and I can’t think of anything else I would rather be doing. I am a self-confessed foodie and I love to cook, bake, and eat out as much as possible. Here are some things I love: My friends and family, travelling, fresh flowers, good books, having breakfast on my balcony, horror films, Christmas, tea, Las Vegas, lie-ins, red wine, Liverpool FC, music, sausage dogs, Spain, rare steak, fashion, cheese, American TV series and camping. And here are my pet hates: People dressed as animals, whistling, being rushed, being made to wait, girls who act stupid to impress a man, spiders, sunburn and rocket (it comes with EVERYTHING!)

One response »

  1. you could allow yourself to eat something from those countries instead? I am sure Sunday will provide the opportunity!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

