RSS Feed

Recipe – Chocolate Cupcakes

I was going to call these little beauties ‘Jubilee Cupcakes’ but they are delicious for any occasion and the only thing that makes them Jubilee themed is the little balls on top!

I made these over the weekend for my family to have with a cuppa and I also took some along to our village Jubilee party where they went down a treat on the kids table!

Ingredients

200g of butter or margarine

200g of light muscovado sugar

100g of dark chocolate

100g of milk chocolate

2 eggs, beaten

1 teaspoon of vanilla extract

250g of self-raising flour

Another 100g of dark chocolate

50ml of double cream

50g of icing sugar, sifted

Sprinkles to decorate

How to make it

  • Preheat your oven to 140°C, Gas Mark 3, and line a muffin tin with cake cases (I used my trusty silicone ones!)
  • In a saucepan, melt the butter, sugar, dark and milk chocolate on a low heat with 100ml of hot water added
  • When melted and glossy (try and resist dipping your fingers in!), set to one side to cool slightly
  • Add the beaten eggs and vanilla extract
  • Put the flour into a mixing bowl and then pour this chocolate mixture over the top and mix well
  • Spoon the mixture into the cupcake cases and then bake for 20-24 minutes
  • While the cakes are cooling you can make the icing
  • Begin by melting the chocolate in a bowl over a pan of simmering water
  • When melted, remove from the heat and stir through the cream and icing sugar
  • Spread over the cakes and top with your sprinkles

Enjoy! xxx

About hannahhotcakes

My name is Hannah. I live near Bath in a lovely village in the Cotswolds with my husband Ian, the love of my life for the past 10 years, in our dream cottage. I have landed my dream job as a primary school teacher and I can’t think of anything else I would rather be doing. I am a self-confessed foodie and I love to cook, bake, and eat out as much as possible. Here are some things I love: My friends and family, travelling, fresh flowers, good books, having breakfast on my balcony, horror films, Christmas, tea, Las Vegas, lie-ins, red wine, Liverpool FC, music, sausage dogs, Spain, rare steak, fashion, cheese, American TV series and camping. And here are my pet hates: People dressed as animals, whistling, being rushed, being made to wait, girls who act stupid to impress a man, spiders, sunburn and rocket (it comes with EVERYTHING!)

Leave a Reply

