RSS Feed

Lovely Jubilee

Well, what a fabulous weekend that was! Royalist or not, I think you would agree that no other country in the world can put on a show quite like we did!

When we moved, one thing I dreamed about was having a full house with lots of friends and family around and a well-stocked fridge so we could all eat, drink and be merry together. Ian and I had my parents and brother to stay this weekend and we did exactly that!

Before they arrived, we popped down to our new favourite pub, The Crown at Bathford, for a long lunch and once again it did not disappoint. We started off by sampling their speciality ale, very aptly named for the weekend…

Although it was pretty miserable outside…

…the food inside was delicious!

Having enjoyed it so much last time, I opted for another one of the chef’s omelettes; ham and cheese this time.

Ian had ale-battered haddock with triple cooked chips (which I insisted we shared!) and the best mushy peas I have ever tasted! I will definitely be ordering this next time we go!

Feeling very full, we headed home to do a last minute clean/tidy/cook before our guests arrived and I greeted them with my Jubilee chocolate cupcakes (recipe to come tomorrow!)

As well as having my family to stay, we did have another houseguest…the beautiful Rosie.

We spent the evening enjoying Pimms and my paella

The next morning, we woke up to sunshine so after a hearty breakfast of steak and eggs, we decided to make the most of it and headed off across the fields for a long walk with Rosie.

Our village looked even lovelier than usual with bunting up and flags flying…

…we even spotted Queenie and a corgi!

We quickly refuelled with some Pimms and a cream tea in the garden then it was off to the Manor House for the village Jubilee party.

I did have to chuckle when we were walking over and turned the corner to find these on the loose!

We were all asked to bring something to donate to the food table and so I plated up some of my chocolate cupcakes and scones on my new plates and added a few cake toppers

I kept walking past to check on the popularity of my offerings (strange, I know!) but I am proud to say the scones lasted less than 10 minutes and the cupcakes were gone within the hour!

The party itself was fabulous. Full of children, bunting, fairy lights, crowns, cakes and party food…oh, and more Pimms!

The whole village was there and we even had the oldest resident cut the Jubilee cake, which I thought was a lovely touch.

There were some other fabulous baking efforts:

The grounds the party was held in were stunning and we even had some evening sun!

After the food, chairs and tables were cleared away and the band started up. There was a country dancing caller and we couldn’t resist joining in – I don’t think I have laughed so much in weeks! It was brilliant fun but so much more tiring than it looked!

Several times throughout the evening I turned to Ian to say how much I loved where we live and I really couldn’t imagine not being here now.

As if I needed confirmation of this, it came during our evening walk with Rosie as we saw this beauty jumping across the field in front of us!

Having done a spot of gardening earlier in the day, the boys simply couldn’t resist getting rid of the sticks and weeds with a bonfire. There is something about men and fire that is hilarious to watch as they all try and tell each other the ‘best’ way to do it…I just sat back with my cup of tea and observed!

I hope you have had a wonderful Jubilee weekend (whatever the weather!)

We did have plans to go camping this week but after seeing the forecast it looks as though it would be slightly damp to say the least!

About hannahhotcakes

My name is Hannah. I live near Bath in a lovely village in the Cotswolds with my husband Ian, the love of my life for the past 10 years, in our dream cottage. I have landed my dream job as a primary school teacher and I can’t think of anything else I would rather be doing. I am a self-confessed foodie and I love to cook, bake, and eat out as much as possible. Here are some things I love: My friends and family, travelling, fresh flowers, good books, having breakfast on my balcony, horror films, Christmas, tea, Las Vegas, lie-ins, red wine, Liverpool FC, music, sausage dogs, Spain, rare steak, fashion, cheese, American TV series and camping. And here are my pet hates: People dressed as animals, whistling, being rushed, being made to wait, girls who act stupid to impress a man, spiders, sunburn and rocket (it comes with EVERYTHING!)

Leave a Reply

