RSS Feed

Recipe – Pimms Jelly

Can you think of any other drink that is quintessentially British and sums up summer in a glass?!

Seeing as it is the Jubilee weekend and as a nation we seem to be celebrating all things British, I thought it would be the perfect time to share this recipe. You can serve this grown-up’s jelly as a dessert or in smaller glasses as a palate cleanser between courses.

Unfortunately, I don’t have a large jelly mould so decided to serve individual jellies in these small bowls.

This was the first time I have ever used gelatine leaves but they turned out to be really simple, and it has now got me thinking about what boozy jellies I can make next!

The below ingredients make enough for 6 small bowlfuls:

Ingredients

5 sheets of gelatine leaves

A small bunch of fresh mint leaves

100ml of Pimms

350ml of lemonade

Chopped cucumber, lemons, oranges and mint to serve

How to make it

  • Begin by soaking the gelatine leaves in a bowl of cold water to soften it
  • Heat 75ml of water in a pan and allow the mint leaves to infuse in it for about 5 minutes, before fishing out the mint leaves
  • Remove the gelatine leaves from the bowl and squeeze out any remaining water
  • Place the gelatine leaves in the mint infused water and stir for a minute or so until they have dissolved
  • Add the Pimms and lemonade, stir then allow to cool
  • Pour into your jelly mould or bowls and allow to set overnight in the fridge
  • Serve with the traditional Pimms garnish

If you do choose to serve these jellies in clear glasses then you can be really inventive with the presentation and have pieces of fruit Pimms ‘floating’ within the jelly.

To achieve this effect, you need to put a small amount of the liquid jelly mixture in the bottom of the glass then pop it in the fridge for about half an hour to an hour.

Once it has set, drop in some small pieces of cucumber, strawberries or mint leaves and then top up with the jelly mixture and allow to set overnight.

One snap to show it really did set!

Just one last picture of the finished jelly…beautiful

About hannahhotcakes

My name is Hannah. I live near Bath in a lovely village in the Cotswolds with my husband Ian, the love of my life for the past 10 years, in our dream cottage. I have landed my dream job as a primary school teacher and I can’t think of anything else I would rather be doing. I am a self-confessed foodie and I love to cook, bake, and eat out as much as possible. Here are some things I love: My friends and family, travelling, fresh flowers, good books, having breakfast on my balcony, horror films, Christmas, tea, Las Vegas, lie-ins, red wine, Liverpool FC, music, sausage dogs, Spain, rare steak, fashion, cheese, American TV series and camping. And here are my pet hates: People dressed as animals, whistling, being rushed, being made to wait, girls who act stupid to impress a man, spiders, sunburn and rocket (it comes with EVERYTHING!)

Leave a Reply

