RSS Feed

May Favourites

Hello and welcome to June

It is the first day of the month and also the start of half term so, even though I am nursing the remnants of a slight hangover after a wine-filled staff night out, I am in a very good mood!

May has been a pretty good month and it feels like we have switched into summer mode with the long, light evening, pink skies and even the occasional sunny days.

Olympic Torch and Jubilee fever has swept the South West and every morning, as I drive past houses bedecked in colourful bunting, it puts a smile on my face. Whether you are for or against the Royal Family, I believe the amount of street parties, village fetes and other gatherings are great examples of community spirit.

Our village is having a big Jubilee party and I have a few new recipes to try out for it…I’m just hoping it doesn’t rain!

So, here are my May favourites:

We finally said good bye to this…

And a big hello to this…

With the sun, came the gentle switch to spending more and more time outside. We ate out there and did a lot of cooking out there:

Baking:

Being able to wear sandals again:

Village Life:

Crumble:

The new Marina album:

A new local pub, The Crown at Bathford:

More salads:

Meeting new neighbours:

And finally my least favourite thing…having to spend thousands on a new boiler! Grrrrrr

 

About hannahhotcakes

My name is Hannah. I live near Bath in a lovely village in the Cotswolds with my husband Ian, the love of my life for the past 10 years, in our dream cottage. I have landed my dream job as a primary school teacher and I can’t think of anything else I would rather be doing. I am a self-confessed foodie and I love to cook, bake, and eat out as much as possible. Here are some things I love: My friends and family, travelling, fresh flowers, good books, having breakfast on my balcony, horror films, Christmas, tea, Las Vegas, lie-ins, red wine, Liverpool FC, music, sausage dogs, Spain, rare steak, fashion, cheese, American TV series and camping. And here are my pet hates: People dressed as animals, whistling, being rushed, being made to wait, girls who act stupid to impress a man, spiders, sunburn and rocket (it comes with EVERYTHING!)

Leave a Reply

