RSS Feed

Recipe – Tzatziki

We had plans to go out for dinner and catch a film at the cinema last night but felt it was too lovely an evening to spend indoors. Instead, we both headed home then straight out into the garden.

I stopped off on the way home to grab some ingredients for a barbecue but my plans for homemade lamb, feta and cumin burgers with a Greek salad were put on hold when I saw the supermarket shelves…no burgers, lamb mince, salad or burger buns!!!

Now I know we are often mocked for how quickly we get our flip flops and Pimms out at the first sign of sun, but I would argue we are simply making the most of the little sunshine we have at this time of year. So with this attitude, I didn’t let the supermarket shortages put me off but instead made a few menu tweaks and put my foot down to get home while it was still glorious!

In my haste to pay and be on my way, I was sucked into a last minute purchase at the tills, although I’m not regretting it the way I usually do with split-decision buys and I think it looks rather lovely in the doorway to welcome people inside!

We haven’t got around to buying a proper barbecue yet so we made do with a nifty little disposable version…not perfect but it got the job done!

We bought some beef koftas from the butchers and served them with crusty bread, tzatziki (my recipe for this is below) and a simple salad of gem lettuce, tomato and cucumber dressed with salt, pepper, olive oil and lemon juice.

I have a cupboard full of different herbs, spices, oils and dressings but sometimes it is nice to just keep things simple and fresh.

There is something quite special about the first BBQ of the summer; a taster of what is to come over the next few months.

Today’s recipe is one of my summer staples and reminds me of sitting in the sun. It is perfect as a burger topping or a dip for a big bowl of chips, crisps or crudités.

I haven’t put any measurements in this recipe as I make it slightly differently each time and I think that you just need to keep tasting it and adding more or less of what flavours you like – I like my tzatziki really garlicky but if you are making this for a romantic evening then by all means tone it down a bit!

Ingredients

Natural yogurt

Cucumber, diced

Lemon juice, just a squeeze

Garlic, minced

Fresh mint, finely chopped

Salt

Olive oil

How to make it

  • Simply combine the yogurt, cucumber, fresh lemon juice, garlic, mint and salt
  • Mix well and keep tasting it to ensure your flavours are nicely balanced
  • To serve, drizzle with olive oil and add a sprig of mint for decoration
About hannahhotcakes

My name is Hannah. I live near Bath in a lovely village in the Cotswolds with my husband Ian, the love of my life for the past 10 years, in our dream cottage. I have landed my dream job as a primary school teacher and I can’t think of anything else I would rather be doing. I am a self-confessed foodie and I love to cook, bake, and eat out as much as possible. Here are some things I love: My friends and family, travelling, fresh flowers, good books, having breakfast on my balcony, horror films, Christmas, tea, Las Vegas, lie-ins, red wine, Liverpool FC, music, sausage dogs, Spain, rare steak, fashion, cheese, American TV series and camping. And here are my pet hates: People dressed as animals, whistling, being rushed, being made to wait, girls who act stupid to impress a man, spiders, sunburn and rocket (it comes with EVERYTHING!)

3 responses »

  1. Pingback: Recipe – Ham, Leek, Asparagus and Mushroom Pie | hannahhotcakes

Leave a Reply

