RSS Feed

Recipe – Rhubarb, Pear and Almond Crumble

We started our weekend with what is fast becoming a much-loved Friday routine…

A pint and a half of ale at our local pub!

For what feels like the first time in ages, we had a gloriously sunny weekend and at the moment you need to make the most of these.

I even brought the flip flops out from their winter hibernation

Although after a few hours, I remembered how uncomfortable those first few wears are as you break your feet back into ‘sandal-mode’

So I found something a bit comfier to wear for the rest of the day!

I whipped up a batch of my banana and peanut butter cupcakes and popped over to the village cake and plant sale. Little local events like these were part of the reason we wanted to move to a village and it was lovely to have a catch up with our neighbours over coffee and treat ourselves to a delicious coconut cake and an interesting-sounding black courgette plant.

Saturday afternoon was mainly spent in the garden. Ian cut the grass and I painted. I also learned why you should never varnish outside as I found 8 flies stuck to the piece of wood I was treating within minutes of turning my back! Cue me having to sand the wood down and start from scratch again!

Today’s recipe is a Sunday classic…is there anything more perfect than a roast dinner followed by a big bowl of crumble?!

The rhubarb season is in full swing and the sharpness goes perfectly with the sweet pears in this recipe, all topped with an almond crumble.

Ingredients

4 sticks of rhubarb, cut into even chunks

2 pears, cut into bite size chunks

50g of caster sugar

100g of plain flour

75g of butter

75g of brown sugar (and an extra pinch to sprinkle on top before cooking!)

50g of ground almonds

How to make it

  • Heat your oven to 200°C, Gas Mark 6
  • In a large ovenproof dish, add the chopped rhubarb and pears and then toss with the caster sugar
  • In a large mixing bowl, add the flour, butter, brown sugar and ground almonds and rub together between your fingers until you have a mixture that looks like breadcrumbs
  • Pour the crumble topping over the fruit and top with a pinch of brown sugar
  • Cook for about 40 minutes or until the dish is golden brown and bubbling around the edges
  • Leave to cool for a few minutes and then serve with cream, custard or ice cream
About hannahhotcakes

My name is Hannah. I live near Bath in a lovely village in the Cotswolds with my husband Ian, the love of my life for the past 10 years, in our dream cottage. I have landed my dream job as a primary school teacher and I can’t think of anything else I would rather be doing. I am a self-confessed foodie and I love to cook, bake, and eat out as much as possible. Here are some things I love: My friends and family, travelling, fresh flowers, good books, having breakfast on my balcony, horror films, Christmas, tea, Las Vegas, lie-ins, red wine, Liverpool FC, music, sausage dogs, Spain, rare steak, fashion, cheese, American TV series and camping. And here are my pet hates: People dressed as animals, whistling, being rushed, being made to wait, girls who act stupid to impress a man, spiders, sunburn and rocket (it comes with EVERYTHING!)

2 responses »

  1. I think I’m going to make this on Sunday! YUM SCRUM IN MY TUM! x

    Reply

Leave a Reply

