RSS Feed

Recipe – Banana Cupcakes with Peanut Butter Frosting

So, we have all been in situations where we have a bunch of these hanging around in the kitchen…

Often, they will end up being binned and I hate waste but these bananas are at the point where they are perfect for a recipe!

Having already posted my recipe for banana bread, I experimented a bit and came up with these little beauties:

It also meant I could use my new cupcake cases and I firmly believe that the nicer it looks, the tastier it is!

I feel a tad American using the term ‘frosting’ but they seem to use a lot of peanut butter over there so I thought it would be appropriate to use it instead of ‘icing’!

Banana, peanut butter and chocolate…what combination could be better?!

Ingredients

125g of butter or margarine (at room temperature)

125g of caster sugar

2 eggs

125g of plain flour

2 teaspoons of baking powder

2 ripe bananas, mashed

A pinch of cinnamon (optional)

100g of cream cheese

35g of icing sugar

2 heaped teaspoons of peanut butter (I used chunky peanut butter for extra texture)

Chocolate sprinkles

How to make it

  • Preheat your oven to 180°C, gas mark 4 and line a muffin tin with paper cases
  • Cream together the butter and sugar in a mixing bowl, until light and fluffy
  • Add the eggs and mix well
  • Next, add the flour and baking powder and continue mixing
  • Finally, add the mashed bananas and cinnamon and when all ingredients are combined, start dividing the mixture between the cupcake cases
  • Bake for about 20 minutes, or until the cupcakes are golden brown, and then allow to cool
  • To make the icing, mix together the cream cheese, the sifted icing sugar and peanut butter until combined
  • When the cupcakes have cooled down, top with the peanut butter frosting and chocolate sprinkles
  • Enjoy one with a cup of tea…or two if you are feeling peckish!
About hannahhotcakes

My name is Hannah. I live near Bath in a lovely village in the Cotswolds with my husband Ian, the love of my life for the past 10 years, in our dream cottage. I have landed my dream job as a primary school teacher and I can’t think of anything else I would rather be doing. I am a self-confessed foodie and I love to cook, bake, and eat out as much as possible. Here are some things I love: My friends and family, travelling, fresh flowers, good books, having breakfast on my balcony, horror films, Christmas, tea, Las Vegas, lie-ins, red wine, Liverpool FC, music, sausage dogs, Spain, rare steak, fashion, cheese, American TV series and camping. And here are my pet hates: People dressed as animals, whistling, being rushed, being made to wait, girls who act stupid to impress a man, spiders, sunburn and rocket (it comes with EVERYTHING!)

Leave a Reply

