RSS Feed

Recipe – Savoury Tarts

I was home with enough time today to enjoy a coffee and spot of painting in the garden.

We are starting to get tired of the smell of fresh paint throughout the house now, so when I saw the option to paint outside I jumped at the chance for some fresh air!

While I was out in the garden, waiting for my first coat of paint to dry, I had a wander to see the effect all this rain has had on the lawn and plants.

The grass has doubled in size and is also covered in a bed of daisies. As cute as they are, I know they are still a weed so they won’t be allowed to stay for long!

The first few rows of salad we have planted in the raised bed have started to peep through the surface…looking forward to fresh salad leaves soon!

One of the lovely things about the first summer in a new house is that you don’t quite know what is coming. I spotted this tree (not sure of the proper name for it!) which looks as though it is close to producing some beautiful blooms.

Today’s recipe is really a continuation of another puff pastry tart I posted a few weeks ago, but this combination worked so well, I felt I had to share the love!

Ingredients

One sheet of puff pastry

A glug of olive oil

One onion, chopped

3-4 slices of bacon, chopped

2-3 tomatoes, chopped

Salt and pepper

Mixed herbs

A sprinkling of Parmesan

How to make it

  • Preheat your oven to 180°C, Gas Mark 4
  • Using a bowl, cut around your puff pastry to make individual tarts then place to one side
  • In a large frying pan, heat the oil on a medium heat and add the onions, cooking for 3-5 minutes until they have softened but not browned
  • To the pan, add the bacon pieces and tomatoes and cook for another 5 minutes until the bacon is cooked
  • Season well and sprinkle with a generous pinch of dried mixed herbs (if you have fresh herbs, then these would also be fine to use)
  • Place a spoonful of this mixture in the centre of a puff pastry case and place in the preheated oven for 15-20 minutes or until golden brown
  • Just before serving, whip the tarts out of the oven and sprinkle the Parmesan cheese over the top before putting back in the oven to melt it

These are fabulous straight out of the oven or chilled. Enjoy xxx

About hannahhotcakes

My name is Hannah. I live near Bath in a lovely village in the Cotswolds with my husband Ian, the love of my life for the past 10 years, in our dream cottage. I have landed my dream job as a primary school teacher and I can’t think of anything else I would rather be doing. I am a self-confessed foodie and I love to cook, bake, and eat out as much as possible. Here are some things I love: My friends and family, travelling, fresh flowers, good books, having breakfast on my balcony, horror films, Christmas, tea, Las Vegas, lie-ins, red wine, Liverpool FC, music, sausage dogs, Spain, rare steak, fashion, cheese, American TV series and camping. And here are my pet hates: People dressed as animals, whistling, being rushed, being made to wait, girls who act stupid to impress a man, spiders, sunburn and rocket (it comes with EVERYTHING!)

Leave a Reply

