RSS Feed

April Favourites

Well, I’m a few days late with my April round up but the wait is over!

We have been ploughing on and trying to get our house how we want it, both inside and out…all fuelled by tea during the day and a nice, cold beer in the evenings!

It really felt like a month of two halves – a lovely, sunny start, with a few weeks off work and lots of time spent out in the garden, followed by a miserable, grey, rainy few weeks where I haven’t felt like doing too much apart from getting cosy…which we haven’t been able to do as our bloody boiler broke down!

Yes, we encountered the nightmare situation that every new homeowner dreads and have been putting up with 3 minute showers, chilly evenings and the general annoyance of spending several thousand pounds on a piece of rather boring machinery! But I shall rant no more because the new boiler is on its way tomorrow so fingers crossed we will once again be toasty in the evenings and I think I will have an hour long shower when I get back from work just because I can!

Here are my April Favourites:

Exploring: We have continued to make the most of our new location, discovering new walking routes, new beer gardens and enjoying the fleeting sunshine!

Crafting: After finding sequins all over the house and a few pin-pricked fingers, I finally finished my sequinned Easter egg which I will keep for years to come.

Discovering: I found a possible new rival to my favourite fish finger sandwich…the bacon and avocado…mmmmmmmmmmm

Brunching: As a nation we are getting better at embracing this lovely meal, synonymous with lazy weekends, and these blueberry pancakes were perfect!

Visiting: namely London, to see my very good friend Cat (and eat at some fabulous places!) and also to fulfil my bridesmaid duties by spending a morning in a vintage store trying on beautiful dresses!

Drinking: We had an ace time at CAMRA’s Ale and Cider Festival in Chippenham last weekend, where we sampled a tasty variety of ales including a rather interesting chocolate orange one and my favourite, which was a raspberry wheat beer.

Cooking:

Photographing:

About hannahhotcakes

My name is Hannah. I live near Bath in a lovely village in the Cotswolds with my husband Ian, the love of my life for the past 10 years, in our dream cottage. I have landed my dream job as a primary school teacher and I can’t think of anything else I would rather be doing. I am a self-confessed foodie and I love to cook, bake, and eat out as much as possible. Here are some things I love: My friends and family, travelling, fresh flowers, good books, having breakfast on my balcony, horror films, Christmas, tea, Las Vegas, lie-ins, red wine, Liverpool FC, music, sausage dogs, Spain, rare steak, fashion, cheese, American TV series and camping. And here are my pet hates: People dressed as animals, whistling, being rushed, being made to wait, girls who act stupid to impress a man, spiders, sunburn and rocket (it comes with EVERYTHING!)

Leave a Reply

