RSS Feed

Recipe – Paella

As promised, here is my paella recipe. Now I know there are an abundance of regional variations on this Spanish classic, including the addition of rabbit, squid ink, seafood and chicken, but mine contains three key ingredients: chorizo, prawns and saffron.

Chorizo offers that lovely smoky paprika flavour.

The king prawns give you a taste of the sea and another meaty texture in the dish.

And finally, the saffron, which is rather pricy but gives that gorgeous colour and authentic flavour.

The only item I didn’t have was a proper paella pan, known as a paellera, which paella purists would insist on,  but I found my Le Creuset casserole dish did just fine!

This was a main course that I served at a dinner party last week and is ideal if you want a dish packed with flavour but don’t have a huge amount of time for chopping and preparing. To make it a bit more of a special dish, I also popped a few lovely langoustines on top but these were more for decoration than flavour.

Ingredients

A glug of olive oil

1 onion, chopped

1 pepper, chopped (I used an orange pepper)

Half of a ring of chorizo (about 130g), chopped

150g of calasparra rice (most supermarkets package it as ‘paella rice’ which is fine)

450ml of chicken stock

A pinch of saffron

A good handful of king prawns, cooked (about 150g)

A langoustine per person, cooked (optional)

A small bunch of fresh parsley, chopped

A fresh lemon for serving

How to make it

  • Begin by heating the oil in a large pan or casserole dish, then add the onion and pepper and fry on a medium heat for a few minutes
  • Add the chopped chorizo and continue cooking until the chorizo starts to release its lovely, fragrant oils
  • Add the paella rice and stir until it is coated in the juices of the pan
  • In the meantime, prepare your stock and add the saffron to it, then pour this mixture over the rice and stir well
  • Cover the pan and leave for about 15 minutes or until the stock is almost absorbed
  • Add the king prawns and cook for another few minutes until they are heated through (you can also add your langoustines at this point if you are using them)
  • Stir through the parsley and serve with a quarter of lemon for your guests to squeeze over the top

I served mine with some salad and a warm French stick to soak up any juices…Enjoy! x

About hannahhotcakes

My name is Hannah. I live near Bath in a lovely village in the Cotswolds with my husband Ian, the love of my life for the past 10 years, in our dream cottage. I have landed my dream job as a primary school teacher and I can’t think of anything else I would rather be doing. I am a self-confessed foodie and I love to cook, bake, and eat out as much as possible. Here are some things I love: My friends and family, travelling, fresh flowers, good books, having breakfast on my balcony, horror films, Christmas, tea, Las Vegas, lie-ins, red wine, Liverpool FC, music, sausage dogs, Spain, rare steak, fashion, cheese, American TV series and camping. And here are my pet hates: People dressed as animals, whistling, being rushed, being made to wait, girls who act stupid to impress a man, spiders, sunburn and rocket (it comes with EVERYTHING!)

One response »

  1. Pingback: Sunday Summary #36 and #37 | hannahhotcakes

Leave a Reply

